USC-Bound Ralf Tribuntsov Rocks Estonian National Championships

TALLINN, Estonia, June 27. THE same week that Ralf Tribuntsov announced via USC that he was signed to be a Trojan, he had a career meet at the Estonian National Championships with a pair of national records. By the end of the meet, he owned a total of 10 national championships as he dominated the meet.

First up, Tribuntsov tied his Estonian record in the men’s 50-meter backstroke with a 25.74 to win the sprint backstroke event. That tied the same time he put up at the Latvian Open Championships earlier this month in Riga.

Tribuntsov followed up with a pair of national-record performances in the men’s 50-meter fly. First, during prelims, he tied Indrek Sei’s 14-year-old record of 24.45. Tribuntsov then made the mark his own with a 24.25 in the finale. Sei’s record had stood since he first set it at the Helsinki European Championships in 2000.

In other individual events, Tribuntsov won the men’s 100-meter back with a 57.48, and the 100-meter fly with a 54.74. He then took home the men’s 100-meter free in 51.09

The future Trojan also earned gold as part of Audentese SK’s men’s 200-meter medley relay with a 25.97 backstroke leadoff. He teamed with Priit Aavik (24.99), Martti Aljand (27.89) and Fred Karu (23.95) to put up a 1:42.80. He then lead his squad to victory in the men’s 400-meter free relay with a 51.31 leadoff. Mart Mandel (53.56), Aavik (52.99) and Aljand (52.73) comprised the rest of the legs in the 3:30.59 winning time.

His third relay gold came by way of Audentese’s touchout triumph against Tartu Ujumisklubi, 7:57.15 to 7:57.38, in the men’s 800-meter free relay. Tribuntsov leadoff with a 1:58.58 as Mandel (2:02.32), Aavik (2:01.09) and Aljand (1:55.16) also competed in the finale. Tribuntsov then clocked a 56.15 lead leg in the men’s 400-meter medley relay with Mandel (56.17), Aljand (1:03.52) and Aavik (56.30) combining for the 3:52.14 to win gold. Tribuntsov’s final relay gold started with his 23.08 in the men’s 200-meter free relay as Aavik (24.27), Mandel (23.80) and Karu (24.18) rounded out the 1:35.33 winning time.