USA Water Polo Teams Through Early Rounds at WUGs

Photo Courtesy: Jeff Cable

Read how the USA water polo women’s and men’s teams have performed through the opening rounds at the World University Games. The American women are 2-0 and the men 0-1-1.

Women

USA 15, France 4 – Full Recap
Taipei, Taiwan – August 19 – The USA Women’s National Team got off to a strong start at the World University Games defeating France 15-4 to open competition. Madison Berggren (Tualatin, OR/Stanford) led the way with four goals while Gabby Stone (La Jolla, CA/Stanford) posted 8 saves in net. Team USA returns to competition on Sunday against Argentina at 3:40 a.m. ET/12:40 a.m. PT.
USA 19, Argentina 1 – Full Recap
Taipei, Taiwan – August 20 – The USA Women’s National Team cruised to their second straight victory at the World University Games with a 19-1 win over Argentina. Jordan Raney (Manhattan Beach, CA/Stanford) scored four goals to lead the USA attack with Mia Rycraw (Walnut, CA/Arizona State) recording 10 saves in net. Team USA returns to action on Tuesday against Australia at 5 a.m. ET/2 a.m. PT.

Men

USA 8, Japan 9 – Full Recap
Taipei, Taiwan – August 18 – The USA Men’s National Team opened play at the World University Games with a 9-8 loss to Japan. Alex Obert (Loomis, CA/Pacific), Ben Stevenson (Reno, NV/Pacific) and Nolan McConnell (Laguna Beach, CA/Long Beach State) all scored two goals in the loss. Chris Whitelegge (Costa Mesa, CA/Coastline CC) recorded 11 saves in net. Team USA returns to play on Sunday when they meet Russia at 6:20 a.m. ET/3:20a.m. PT.

USA 11 Russia 11 – Full Recap
Taipei, Taiwan – August 20 – The USA Men’s National Team drew with Russia 11-11 in their latest game at the World University Games. Ben Stevenson (Reno, NV/Pacific) scored three goals to lead the offense while Chris Whitelegge (Costa Mesa, CA/Coastline CC) added 7 saves in net. Team USA returns to play on Monday against Romania at 5 a.m. ET/2 a.m. PT.
Comments Off on USA Water Polo Teams Through Early Rounds at WUGs

Author: David Rieder

avatar
David Rieder is the host of Swimming World TV and a staff writer for Swimming World. A contributor to the magazine and website since 2009, he has covered the NCAA Championships, U.S. Nationals, Olympic Trials as well as the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio and the 2017 World Championships in Budapest. He is a native of Charleston, S.C., and a 2016 graduate of Duke University.

Current Swimming World Issue


Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here