USA Swimming Short Course Junior Nationals: Jacob Pebley Sets Meet Record; Ryan Murphy Posts Another U.S. National Age Group Record in Runner-Up Finish

For a full photo gallery of the event, click here.

AUSTIN, Texas, December 10. THE USA Swimming Short Course Junior Nationals came to a close with yet another big swim from Bolles' Ryan Murphy. He clocked a U.S. National Age Group record in the boys 200-yard back, but could not overcome Corvallis' Jacob Pebley for the junior national title.

Corvallis' Jacob Pebley edged Bolles' Ryan Murphy, 1:40.79 to 1:40.90, in the boys 200 back. Both swims eclipsed Pebley's 2010 meet record of 1:42.73. Pebley just missed the 17-18 NAG of 1:40.53 set by Max Murphy in 2009, while Murphy, 16, smashed the 15-16 U.S. National Age Group record of 1:43.16 set by Jack Conger last year. Bolles' Preston Jenkings claimed third in 1:44.29. Pebley moved up to 24th in the all time rankings, while Murphy now stands 28th.

Michigan Lakeshore's Courtney Bartholomew won the girls 200 back in 1:53.70, just off her 2010 meet mark of 1:53.16. Dynamo's Kylie Stewart placed second in 1:54.30, while Blue Tide's Jillian Vitarius clinched third in 1:55.17.

Saint Andrew's Lindsey McKnight checked in with a 49.30 to win the girls 100 free, while Hershey's Meaghan Raab clinched second in 49.80. Fort Worth's Julia Anderson earned third in 49.94. Nitro's Matt Ellis captured the boys 100 free title in 43.52, while SwimMAC's Kyle Darmody touched second in 44.19. Alamo Area's John Murray wound up third in 44.28.

New Canaan's Kaylin Moss hit the wall in 2:12.86 for the girls 200 breast victory. SwimMAC's Maija Roses finished second in 2:13.27, while Birmingham's Anne Lazor wound up third in 2:14.01. Nitro's William Licon posted a 1:58.08 to win the boys 200 breast. Dynamo's Joseph Bentz (1:59.30) and Blue Tide's Jordan Jones (2:00.20) rounded out the top three.

Sandpipers' Olivia Barker clocked a 1:57.16 for the girls 200 fly title. Parkway's Heather Lundstrom finished second in 1:57.61, while Cypress Fairbank's Anna Patterson placed third in 1:58.99. Bolles' Joseph Schooling finished in 1:45.08 to win the boys 200 fly. North Jeffco's Andrew Torres earned second in 1:45.92, while Santa Clara's Chris Scheaffer turned in a third-place 1:46.41.

Bolles' Ashley Neidigh clinched the girls 1650 freestyle title in 16:13.50, while Lakeside's Leah Stevens placed second in 16:16.13. Corvallis' Jessica James posted a third-place 16:34.68. Dynamo's Matias Koski posted a 14:55.32 in the boys 1650 free for the win. That swim cleared the meet record of 15:02.07 set by Evan Pinion last year. Pilot's Pinion took second in 15:12.41, while Burkwood's Rodney Fentress touched third in 15:17.77.

Dynamo's Kylie Stewart, Kaitlin Kitchens, Haley Durmer and Nicole Stafford won the girls 400 free relay in 3:22.71. Y-Spartaquatics' Katrina Konopka, Haley Lips, Kendall Crawford and Alison Snover took second in 3:22.88, while SwimMAC's Elsa Welshofer, Lauren Rhodes, Maija Roses and Nora McCullagh placed third in 3:23.12. SwimMAC's Peter Brumm, Logan Heck, John Manchester and Kyle Darmody posted a 2:56.93 to down the meet record in the boys 400 free relay. Dynamo set the previous mark with a 2:59.73 last year. Bolles' Ryan Murphy, Teo D'Alessandro, Santo Condorelli and Caeleb Dressel placed second in 2:56.94, while Dynamo's Matias Koski, Joseph Bentz, Samuel Lewis and Robert Doles closed for third with a 3:00.88.