USA Swimming Sectionals, West Lafayette: Margo Geer and Josh Schneider Set Meet Records in 50 Freestyle

WEST LAFAYETTE, Indiana, July 21. NCAA champion Josh Schneider and incoming college freshman Margo Geer set meet records on the opening night of the West Lafayette sectional championships.

Geer, representing Springfield Family YMCA and an incoming freshman for the University of Arizona, won the women's 50 free in a meet record time of 26.10. She took down Emily Bos' 2009 record of 26.17 in achieving the victory. Daniela Barbiea of Mason Manta Rays was second with a 26.39, a fingernail ahead of Anne Donovan of Ohio University, who touched in 26.40.

Schneider, the reigning NCAA champion in the 50 freestyle, won the one-length sprint in a meet record of 22.24. The time is just shy of his best long course time of the year, a 22.21 performed at a meet in Italy in June. Notably, he broke Evan Ryser's year-old meet record of 22.78. Jason Schnur, swimming unattached, was a distant second in 23.61, and Clay Youngquist of Lakeview Aquatics was third in 23.64.

Briana Emig of Club Wolverine won the opening event, the women's 800 freestyle, in 8:54.52. Megan Gallagher of Maverick Aquatics gave chase for the entire race, but could not overtake Emig, earning second place with an 8:55.70. Third place went to Abigail Chin of Upper Arlington with an 8:59.61.

The women's 200 backstroke was won by Caitlyn Forman of Northern Kentucky Clippers with a 2:14.95. Carol Arakelian of Kingfish Aquatics was second with a 2:16.84 and Lauren Jordan of Carmel Swim Club rounded out the podium with a 2:17.01.

The first men's event of the evening, the 200 backstroke, was won by John Koehler of Dayton Raiders in 2:04.64. The battle for the other two spots on the podium was tight, with Davis Staley of Lake Erie Silverfins getting the silver medal in 2:07.22. Mark Boman of Boilermaker Aquatics was just touched out with a 2:07.28.

The men's 1500 freestyle was won by Alex Miller of M.E. Lyons with a 16:09.35. Michael Gaudiani of Lake Erie Silverfins was second with a 16:11.23 and in third was Richard Forrest of Spartan Swim Club with a 16:19.27.

Gissel Kohoyda of Kronos Aquatics was the winner of the women's 200 breaststroke with a 2:33.43. Anne Lazor of Birmingham won the silver medal with a 2:34.64 and the bronze went to Emma Schoettmer of Center Grove Aquatics with a 2:37.18.

The men's 200 breast featured Elliott Keefer, a consolation finalist this year for The Ohio State University. Keefer was the clear winner with a 2:16.11. Well back in second and third place were Michael Swain of Club Wolverine and Daniel Macdonald of Greater Toledo. Macdonald tried to run down Swain in the final 50 meters, but ran out of pool. Swain picked up second place with a 2:22.47, while Macdonald was third with a 2:22.78.

The women's 800 freestyle relay closed out the night, with Boilermaker winning the event with an 8:20.23. Greater Toledo was second with an 8:30.67 and third place went to Kingfish Aquatic with an 8:31.88.