USA Swimming Sectionals, Mount Hood: Kohei Kawamoto Clears Meet Record in Men’s 100 Fly

MOUNT HOOD, Oregon, July 18. KOHEI Kawamoto won't be able to use the time as a Masters world record, but the 28-year-old from Brophy East Swim Team blasted the men's 100 fly in a tight contest with Tucson Ford's Lyndon Ferns.

Kawamoto clocked a time of 52.30 to clear the 53.61 set by Igor Martchenko in 2004. Ferns joined him under the standard with a 52.36. Ferns led at the 50, 24.06 to 24.07, but Kawamoto turned in a 28.23 final 50 for the win. Andre Blyth of North Jeffco finished third in 55.12.

Kristen Lahey opened the night with a time of 1:03.19 in the women's 100 back representing RallySport. Missy Franklin, 13, of Colorado Stars took second in 1:03.63, while Noriko Inada of Brophy East finished third in 1:04.04.

Jon Banker of Washington won the men's 100 back in 57.91. Austin Ringquist, 15, of Hillsboro Heat touched second in 58.30, while Connor McCarroll, 17, of Tualatin Hills placed third in 58.40.

Jenni Stratton of David Douglas turned in a first-place 4:18.52 in the women's 400 free, while Jordan Mattern, 15, of Colorado Stars (4:20.81) and Ashley Daly of Washington (4:23.79) rounded out the top three.

Blake Worsley of Denver finished first in the men's 400 free with a readout of 3:57.86. Brett Nagle of David Douglas posted a second-place 3:58.10, while Blake Lewkowitz of the Arizona Marlins finished third in 4:05.75.

In the women's 100 breast, Ellie Freeman of Denver won in 1:11.69. Rachel Ripley, 17, of Rio Salado (1:12.24) and Elyse Peterson (1:13.40) took second and third, respectively.

Michel DeCarolis of Crimson Aquatics won the men's 100 breast in 1:05.35. Kevin Munsch of King finished second in 1:05.41, while Nicholas Brunger of Denver touched just behind in 1:05.44.

Erin Campbell of Washington then touched out Jenni Dole of Spokane Area, 1:01.37 to 1:01.49, in the women's 100 fly. Katie Kinnear, 13, of Issaquah took third in 1:02.74.

The 800 free relays closed down the evening. Salmon Bay's Amber McDermott, Lauren Hall, Briana Meyer and Kelly Tannhauser won the women's race in 8:28.04, while David Douglas' Jared Maricle, Dennis Baker, Mike Stratton and Nagle claimed the men's crown in 7:46.23.