USA Swimming Grand Prix, Columbus: Top Stars Shine In Last Night

COLUMBUS, Ohio, April 6. THE last night of action at the USA Swimming Grand Prix held in Columbus featured plenty of the top stars in the country doing what they do best.

Men's 1500 free
Peter Vanderkaay of Club Wolverine cut an incredible amount of time off his lifetime best in the metric mile as he joined the sub-15:00 club in the event. Vanderkaay, who previously owned a top time of 15:14.35 set at the 2006 Namesnik Grand Prix, clocked a time of 14:52.56.

The swim moved Vanderkaay ahead of Ryan Cochrane for eighth all time as Cochrane had clocked a 14:54.66 during the Canadian Trials earlier this evening. Vanderkaay now stands behind Erik Vendt's 14:47.59 U.S. Open record.

Tyler Sell, 15, of the City of Pembroke placed second in 15:46.32, while Matt Benecki of The Fish finished third in 15:50.21.

Women's 200 back
In a head-to-head battle in the women's 200 dorsal, Teresa Crippen, 17, of Germantown Academy touched out Elizabeth Pelton, 14, of North Baltimore, 2:12.88 to 2:12.95. Crippen's teammate Kate Riefenstahl snagged third place with a time of 2:15.32.

North Baltimore also scored fourth place in the event as Felicia Lee went 2:16.28.

Men's 200 back
Aaron Peirsol proved just why he is one of the very best in the event as he clocked a time of 1:56.41 to win the race. He finished less than a second off his season-best time of 1:55.85 that stands as the best effort in the world this year.

Peirsol cruised in the race as Roland Rudolf of the University of Florida finished well behind with a second-place 1:59.00. David Cromwell, Peirsol's teammate at Longhorn, took third in 2:01.25.

Notably, Erik Vendt of Club Wolverine placed sixth with a time of 2:03.03.

Women's 100 free
Katie Hoff kept on a roll at the meet as she scored a victory in the 100 free with a time of 55.24. That swim finished only a second off her lifetime-best effort of 54.28 set at the Missouri Grand Prix.

Andrea Hupman of Northwestern wound up taking second place with a time of 55.96, while Ariana Vanderpool-Wallace took third in a time of 56.19.

Men's 100 free
Cesar Cielo dipped under his Brazilian record in the event with a time of 48.34 to win the sprint. Cielo moved into a tie with Ryk Neethling for 10th all time in the 100 free. The time is also the third-fastest in the world this year.

Albeit in the 100 free, Cielo actually beat the best swimmer on the planet as Michael Phelps touched just behind him in 48.41. The performance for Phelps is his personal-best by the slimmest of margins as he previously clocked a 48.42 at the 2007 World Championships.

Fred Bousquet rounded out the top three with a time of 49.38. Other top names competed in the championship heat as Alexei Puninski (4th/49.60), Peter Vanderkaay (5th/50.33) and George Bovell (7th/50.76) also made the top eight.

Women's 200 fly
The championship heat was filled to the brim with some top stars. Kaitlin Sandeno of Club Wolverine emerged victorious with a winning time of 2:10.75, while Katie Hoff took a rare loss when she hit the wall in 2:11.03 for second.

Hoff's North Baltimore teammate Courtney Kalisz placed third in 2:11.27, while Alicia Aemisegger took fourth in 2:14.48.

Men's 200 fly
Kaio Almeida won a close battle with Dan Madwed of North Baltimore, 1:57.40 to 1:58.17, while Israel Duran Mata took third in 2:00.86.

North Baltimore's relays continued doing well as Felicia Lee, Elizabeth Pelton, Natalie Beale and Katie Hoff ripped off a 3:47.60 to win the women's 400 free relay. Ohio State's squad of Andrew Olson, Joel Elber, Jacob Busch and Matt Voelker won the men's race in 3:23.71.

Katie Hoff wins 100 freestyle at 2008 Toyota Grand prix at OSU.

Aaron Peirsol wins 200 backstroke at 2008 Toyota Grand Prix at OSU.

Teresa Crippen wins 200 backstroke at 2008 Toyota Grand prix at OSU.

Peter Vanderkaay wins 150 Free at 2008 Toyota Grand prix at OSU.

Kaio Almeida (BRA) wins 200 Fly at 2008 Toyota Grand prix at OSU.