USA Swimming Grand Prix, Columbus: Katie Hoff Doubles Up

COLUMBUS, Ohio, April 4. AFTER a few weeks off, the USA Swimming Grand Prix series returned with swimming taking place in Columbus, Ohio.

Women's 800 free
Katie Hoff of North Baltimore dominated the event with a winning time of 8:19.70, just three seconds off the world record of Janet Evans (8:16.22). Kate Ziegler of The Fish cruised to second in 8:31.34, while Alicia Mathieu of SoNoCo placed third in 8:50.22

Ziegler's time is only three seconds off her best time this year of 8:28.04 that she set last month.

Women's 100 breast
Lindsay Rogers of Southeastern Swimming grabbed the 100 breast title with a time of 1:10.23, while Alicia Aemisegger placed second in 1:11.04. Spindrift Beck of the Dallas Mustangs rounded out the top three in 1:11.84.

Men's 100 breast
After taking a pair of losses to teammate Eric Shanteau last month in Austin, world-record holder Brendan Hansen rolled in the 100 breast with a time of 1:01.10. Shanteau, who trains with Hansen at Longhorn Aquatics, snared second with a time of 1:02.46.

Notably, Michael Phelps picked up fourth place in the event with a time of 1:02.80.

Women's 200 free
Allison Schmitt of Club Wolverine dipped under 2:00 to win a time of 1:59.37 to walk away with the 200 free title. She knocked off Katie Riefenstahl, who placed second in 2:00.65 representing Germantown Academy. Kate Ziegler of The Fish added a third-place effort of 2:00.70 after winning the 800 free.

The top eight of the event had some heavy hitters like SwimMAC-Carolina's Carly Piper (4th/2:00.72), Club Wolverine's Kaitlin Sandeno (5th/2:01.57) and Northwestern's Andrea Hupman (8th/2:04.11).

Men's 200 free
In a Club Wolverine battle, Peter Vanderkaay surfaced ahead of Michael Phelps in the 200 as Vanderkaay won in 1:46.78. Phelps, meanwhile, placed second in 1:47.09. Dan Madwed of North Baltimore claimed third in 1:49.17. Madwed will be joining the Wolverines after the summer as he attends Michigan.

Women's 100 fly
Katie Hoff of North Baltimore snared the title in the event with a time of 1:00.15, while Jacque Fessel picked up second in a time of 1:00.42. Kathleen Hersey of Swim Atlanta rounded out the top three as she touched out Hershey Aquatics' Katie Nolan, 1:00.80 to 1:00.88.

Men's 100 fly
Michael Phelps, already taking fourth in the 100 breast, eased through the 100 fly with a time of 51.90 to win the event. Fred Bousquet, swimming for Auburn Aquatics, placed second in 52.29 while fellow Tiger Alexei Puninski took third in 52.61.

Women's 200 IM
Kaitlin Sandeno of Club Wolverine and Alicia Aemisegger put on a show as the duo deadheated in the 200 IM with matching times of 2:14.52. Meanwhile, Teresa Crippen of Germantown Academy rounded out the top three with a time of 2:16.48.

Men's 200 IM
Eric Shanteau of Longhorn bounced back from his loss to Brendan Hansen in the 100 breast when he nabbed a triumph in the men's 200 IM with a time of 2:01.74. He held off a hard-charging Erik Vendt of Club Wolverine, who placed second in 2:02.42. Aaron Peirsol of Longhorn demonstrated some versatility with a third-place 2:03.37. Additionally, Hansen took sixth in 2:05.52.

800 free relays
North Baltimore's team of Andi Staub, Elizabeth Pelton, Natalie Beale and Katie Hoff won the women's title in 8:09.80, while Ohio State's foursome of George Markovic, Jayson King, Andrew Olson and Jacob Busch claimed the men's race in 7:31.48.

Katie Hoff wins 100 Fly at 2008 Toyota Grand Prix at Ohio State University.

Eric Shanteau wins the 200 IM at  the 2008 Toyota Grand Prix at Ohio State University.

Peter Vanderkaay wins the 200 Free at 2008 Toyota Grand Prix at Ohio State University.

Brendan Hansen wins 100 Breaststroke at 2008 Toyota Grand Prix at Ohio State University.

Lindsay Rogers wins 100 Breaststroke at 2008 Toyota Grand Prix at Ohio State University.

Alicia Aemisegger and Kaitlin Sandeno tie for first in 200 IM at 2008 Toyota Grand Prix at Ohio State University.