USA Swimming Announces Mel Zajac, Mare Nostrum Rosters

Kathryn Ackerman. Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Forty-one of the USA Swimming top junior swimmers were selected to compete at two of the best international junior events taking place this spring — the Mel Zajac Jr. International Swim Meet and the Mare Nostrum. In total, 36 clubs will be represented among the 41 junior swimmers competing for the United States in international competition for the first time.

The 56th annual Mel Zajac Jr. International Swim Meet is a three-day event, beginning May 24 in Vancouver, British Canada. To be eligible for the Mel Zajac Jr. International, athletes must have a minimum of a top-50 Power Ranking on the world 100, be in high school and have never previously represented the United States in international competition. This group will follow in the footsteps of Team USA Olympians Maya DiRado, Missy Franklin and Tom Shields as Mel Zajac junior competitors. The event was also Dakota Luther’s first international trip in 2017, just one month before she made the 2017 U.S. World Championships team.

More meet coverage here.

Last year’s Mel Zajac event featured two Americans being highlighted as top junior female and male swimmers of the event after Isabelle Stadden set the eighth best time in the world in the 200-meter backstroke, finishing in 2:08.37. Gianluca Urlando received male honors after his 53.21 performance in the men’s 100m butterfly.

Just over two weeks and 5,000 miles later, the Mare Nostrum will take place in Canet-en-Roussillon, France (June 11 – 12) and Barcelona, Spain (June 15 – 16). Only the highest-ranked 18 and under athletes qualify for the Mare Nostrum, regardless of National Team or National Junior Team Status. Female swimmers must have a minimum of a top-50 world rank and male swimmers must post a top-75 in the world ranking from 2018.

The 18 American junior competitors are an increased total from the 2018 Mare Nostrum, when only 10 American juniors made the trip to Europe. Making appearances at the 2018 Mare Nostrum were former junior standouts and current National Team athletes Michael Andrew, Grace Ariola, Zoe Bartel, Brooke Forde, Bryce Mefford and Erica Sullivan.

Mel Zajac Jr. International Swim Meet Roster

USA Swimming Women’s Roster

Name Club Coach
Kathryn Ackerman Michigan Lakeshore Aquatics Jim Whitehead
Abby Arens Marlins of Raleigh Paul Silver
Olivia Bray Virgina Gators Doug Fonder/Kathy Fonder
Caitlin Brooks Gator Swim Club Robert Pinter
Alexandra Crisera Beach Cities Swimming Monique Shelton
Annabel Crush Lakeside Swim Team Mike Deboor/Tony Carroll
Kaitlyn Dobler The Dolphins Portland Swimming Nacim Bouferrache
Coleen Gillilan Fort Collins Area Swim Team Mike Novell
Isabel Gormley Asphalt Green Unified Aquatics David Rodriguez
Charlotte Hook TAC Titans Bruce Marchionda/Robert Norman
Torri Huske Arlington Aquatic Club Evan Stiles
Anna Keating Machine Aquatics Dan Jacobs
Justina Kozan Brea Aquatics Jim Johnson
Janessa Mathews Ohio State Swim Club Kyle Goodrich
Amanda Ray New Wave Swim Team John Roy/Edward Lower
Emma Wheal Western Hills Athletic Club James Bynum

USA Swimming Men’s Roster

Name  Club Coach
David Curtiss Hamilton Y Aquatic Club Susan Welsh
Matt Fallon Somerset Valley YMCA Dan Roth
Ian Grum Dynamo Swim Club Ian Murray
Julian Hill Gator Swim Club Robert Pinter
Jason Louser Long Island Aquatic Club Dave Ferris/Ginny Nussbaum
Joshua Matheny Team Pittsburgh Elite Aquatics Dave Shraven
River Wright Bluefish Swim Club Chuck Batchelor

Head Coach: 
Ian Murray (Dynamo Swim Club)

Assistant Coach: Monique Shelton (Beach Cities Swimming)

Manager: Beau Caldwell

Team Physician: Dr. Adam Lewno


18 & Under International Team: Mare Nostrum Roster

Name Club
Phoebe Bacon Nation’s Capital
Patrick Callan Michigan/Titans
Shaine Casas Texas A&M
Adam Chaney Mason Manta Rays
Madelyn Donohoe The Fish
Carson Foster Mason Manta Rays
Jake Foster Mason Manta Rays
Ethan Harder Billings Aquatic Club
Isabel Ivey California Berkeley/Lakers
Van Mathias Indiana University/Multnomah Athletic Club
Ella Nelson Nashville Aquatics
Lillian Nordmann Magnolia Aquatics
Kieran Smith University of Florida/Ridgefield Aquatic Club
Kevin Vargas La Mirada Armada
Alex Walsh Nashville Aquatics
Gretchen Walsh Nashville Aquatics
Emma Weyant Sarasota Sharks
Reece Whitley California Berkeley/Penn Charter

Head Coach: 
Ken Heis

Manager: Laura Ring

— The above press release was posted by Swimming World in conjunction with USA Swimming. For press releases and advertising inquiries please contact

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x