TYR Pro Swim Series Prelims: Star-Studded 200 Free on Tap; Smith Goes 57.75 in 100 Fly

Regan Smith Photo Courtesy: Connor Trimble

Three winners from Thursday night at the TYR Pro Swim Series Des Moines are set to show down Friday night in the women’s 200 freestyle.

Katie Ledecky earned the top seed in the morning with a time of 1:56.19. She’s chasing her third title of the meet, after winning the 1,500 free and 400 free the last two nights. The second seed is Hali Flickinger, winner of Thursday’s 200 butterfly, in 1:59.16. She’s just .02 ahead of 100 free champ Siobhan Haughey, who Friday made the move to ISL club Energy Standard. Also booked for the A final are Allison Schmitt, Simone Manuel and Leah Smith, all of whom cracked two minutes in prelims Friday morning.

TYR Pro Swim Series, Des Moines

In other prelim events:

Regan Smith turned in a personal-best 57.75 in the 100 butterfly to grab the top seed. It’s faster than the 57.86 she went in the TYR Pro Swim Series stop in Knoxville in January. Second is Farida Osman with Beryl Gastaldello third. American challengers Kelsi Dahlia and Kendyl Stewart are also in the top five. Flickinger missed the A final by seven one-hundredths in ninth.

Michael Andrew is the top seed in the men’s race, his 51.49 just nudging Marius Kusch (51.54). Caeleb Dressel is third in 52.40 with Giles Smith fourth.

Townley Haas earned the top seed in the men’s 200 free in 1:48.71, an event where the eight finalists are separated by 1.18 seconds. Second is Dressel in 1:48.83 with Alex Kunert third. Blake Pieroni and Andrew Seliskar are also in the A final, while Zane Grothe is ninth to land in the B final.

Ryan Murphy and Jacob Pebley will collide in the 200 backstroke as the top two seeds. Pebley was quicker in the morning by one tenth in 1:59.67. Grigory Tarasevich is the third seed. Matt Grevers was eighth in morning prelims in 2:04.41.

World record holder Regan Smith is the third seed in tonight’s 200 back, going 2:12.11 in the morning to coast into the A final in the first swim of her double. The top seed is Lisa Bratton (2:10.81) with Kathleen Baker (2:11.85) second.

Melanie Margalis leads an impressive final heat in the women’s 400 individual medley. She was first in prelims in 4:42.51. Second is Madisyn Cox, followed by Ally McHugh and Leah Smith.

Germany’s Jacob Heidtmann was first in the men’s 400 IM in 4:16.77, nearly five seconds clear of the prelims field. Second was Abraham Divine with Ryan Lochte third in 4:21.93. Jay Litherland is the fourth seed tonight.

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Thomas A. Small
3 years ago