Three Eastern Zone Records for CP-AC on Night Two of Ithaca Speedo Sectionals

Photo Courtesy: Diana Pimer

Editorial Content for Speedo Sectional Series is sponsored by Speedo. Visit Speedo Today

Chelsea Piers Aquatic Club’s Kate Douglass was a triple winner on night two of the 2019 Speedo Sectionals Region 1 (North) at Ithaca College. She claimed both the 100 Butterfly (51.74) and 100 Backstroke (53.14) in Eastern Zone Speedo Championship Series Records. Both previous marks were set by North Baltimore’s Felicia Lee in 2010.

She was also joined by Sophia Moore, Bridget Semenuk and Maxine Parker to set another Eastern Zone mark in the 200 Medley Relay. Douglass split a 27.40 breaststroke leg to help her team to an overall record time of 1:40.31.

Not far off Douglass’ relay split was Asphalt Green’s Sophia Zhang (27.74), who took the individual 100 Breaststroke title in 1:00.73. The swim was a lifetime best for the 17-year-old. Fellow Metropolitan swimmers Angelina Harris (1:02.43) of Three Village Swim Club and Jessica Whang (1:02.45) placed second and third.

CP-AC’s Moore (1:03.46), Three Village’s Riley Gavigan (1:03.55), Weston’s Samantha Kim (1:03.73), New York Sharks’ Theresa Milio (1:04.38) and CP-AC’s Kaitlyn Holmes (1:04.43) took fourth through eighth.

Douglass was followed by LGAC’s Vanessa Chong (53.52) and Weston’s Charlotte Proceller (55.21) in the butterfly. Crimson’s Anna Feng took fourth in 55.51 with Weston’s Alexa Pappas (55.59) in fifth. Semenuk (55.61), Hannah Seward (55.63) and New York Shark’s Joy Jiang (55.66) rounded out the top heat.

In the backstroke, Pappas (54.89) and Moore (54.91) earned more top-eight finishes. They were followed by CMA’a Caroline Mahoney (55.56), Three Village’s Kyra Sommerstad (55.69), Crimson’s Caitlin Spencer (56.06) and Sadie Runeman (56.47) and Kingfish’s Sydni Diehl (56.53).

Both the 200 and 500 Freestyles were contested on night two, featuring wins from CP-AC’s Elizabeth Boeckman (4:49.88) in the 500, and Semenuk in the 200 (1:47.21). Teammate Parker was close behind as well coming in at 1:48.51.

The latter ladies were joined by CMA’s Olivia Tighe (1:49.15), Kingfish’s Alexa Connors (1:49.75), MCSC’s Grace Miller (1:51.01) and Alexandra Stevens (1:51.33), Crimson’s Molly Hamlin (1:52.11) and Laguardia’s Orla Egan (1:53.40) among the top finishers.

Connors and Miller were the only double-top-eight swimmers between the two freestyle events. Connors’ 500 time of 4:53.15 earned her the third-place finish behind GRIT’s Tylor Mathieu (4:51.43), while Miller earned sixth in 5:56.93. Also placing in the top eight were PPSC’s Emily Ecker (4:55.47), LIE’s Mary McKenna (4:55.98), CAC’s Ella Dyjak (4:56.95) and New York Sharks’ Jessica Pyrne (4:57.16).

On the men’s side, Timothy Park of the New York Sharks posted a big lifetime best for the 200 Freestyle win in 1:38.52. Sixteen-year-old Eric Eastham of PVAA broke 1:40 for the first time (1:39.32) to earn runner-up honors. Aquabears’ James Plage did likewise in 1:39.79 for third. Taking fourth through eighth were WACK’s Tyler Roethke (1:40.34), NJB’s Jake Riva (1:42.30), Crimson’s John Zeiger (1:42.85), GRIT’s Mcallistar Milne (1:42.86) and Three Village’s Jake Vecchio (1:43.14).

Plage came back at the end of the session to claim gold in the 500 in 4:26.36. Roethke also swam both events, this time in 4:36.56 for seventh. New York Sharks’ Matthew Styczen was second in 4:30.62 and Ridgefield’s Connor Hunt was third with a 4:30.77.

Three Village continued their successful night with Brendan Williams‘ 4:31.30 and fourth-place finish. OAK’s Adam Zapatka (4:33.59), XCEL’s Michael Krigeris (4:34.36) and BULL’s Zachary Houlton (4:38.79) also placed in the top eight.

In the stroke events, Laguardia’s Andy Lee took the 100 Breast title in 54.57. It was enough to edge out Connor Morikawa of CP-AC who finished in 54.93. Chelsea Piers was able to secure the win in the 100 Butterfly courtesy of fifteen-year-old Tyler Sicignano (48.78). Lee also placed second in this event with a 49.19. WCS’s Nicholas Vance (48.22) and UVAC’s Jack Wadsworth (48.99) were the top two racers in the 100 Backstroke.

The breaststrokers were followed by Phillip Gong (NYSA – 55.12), Aidan Kreiley (MERC – 55.88), Arsenio Bustos (WAC – 55.91), Xiao Lin (LGAC – 56.26), Oleksandr Bezuglyy (FREE – 56.72) and Jacob Kaminsky (56.91).

The remaining top six butterflies included: Park (49.53), Riva (50.33), Wadsworth (50.49), CP-AC’s Connor Martin (50.53), Vecchio (50.66) and EEX’s Oliver Glassmann (50.80).

Bustos (49.43), PAC’s Colin Mackellar (50.29), SRAY’s Benjamin Eckerson (50.75), Riva (50.92), ALBS’s Bryan Liu (51.04) and XCEL’s Matthew Marquardt (51.05) took third through eighth in the 100 Backstroke.

The Woodbridge team of Bustos, Jack Crocamo, Jake Velleco and Thomas Milnar kept their strong pace going by winning the 200 Medley Relay in 1:31.92. The time is just two tenths off the Eastern Zone Record. A 20.33 split from Milnar gave them the come-from-behind victory over New York Sharks and Chelsea Piers who tied for second in 1:32.08.

Heat sheets for day three of competition can be found here. Results are available on Meet Mobile: 2019 EZ North Speedo Short Course Sectionals.