Texas Sets Up Big Points on Day Three Prelims of 2018 Big 12 Championships

Photo Courtesy: Andy Ringgold / Aringo Photos

To no one’s surprise the Texas Longhorns led the meet in overall points after last night’s relay session while the battle for runner-up between TCU, WVU, Iowa State and Kansas on the women’s side continues. The men have a much smaller meet, being just three teams large, though the always tight TCU/WVU showdown is still on as we progress through the 2018 Big 12 conference championships.

During the ladies 500 free this morning we saw Longhorn Quinn Carrozza earn the lane four position with her 4:44.70 while her teammate Evie Pfeifer posted the second fastest time in a 4:45.55. Completing a Texas monopoly was Lauren Case who produced the third fastest time in 4:47.79. Rounding out the A final tonight will be KU’s Nika Fellows with her 4:52.51.

In the men’s 500 free Longhorn freshman John Larson nabbed the first spot going into tonight with his 4:17.64. Larson will be flanked by teammates Jeff Newkirk (4:19.24) and Parker Neri (4:20.20). WVU’s Trayton Saladin will be in lane eight in tonight’s A final by virtue of his 4:25.34 from the heats.

The Texas ladies took tonight’s middle lanes yet again, this time in the 200 IM. UT’s Nora McCullagh posted the top time in 1:57.12 while her teammate Brooke Hansen (1:58.38) and WVU’s Morgan Bullock (1:59.04) followed. TCU’s Devin Newton (2:03.51) will round out the A final tonight.

In the men’s 200 IM, Texas duo of Jonathan Roberts (1:44.87) and Ryan Harty (1:45.13) took the top two spots while WVU’s Nate Carr followed behind in a 1:45.86. Longhorn Sam Stewart will be in lane eight in tonight’s A final with a 1:48.07.

Longhorn Rebecca Millard took the top spot in the 50 free with her 22.29 while Iowa State’s Laura Miksch got the Cyclones into scoring position with her 22.60. Texas Longhorn Remedy Rule posted the third fastest time in 22.64. Taking eighth was Texas freshman Kennedy Lohman (23.14).

The men’s 50 free featured the Texas sprint trio of Tate Jackson (18.99), Brett Ringgold (19.33) and Joseph Schooling (19.51). Fellow Longhorn Luke Bowman made the A final in eighth place with a 20.27.

The women’s 1-meter diving event begins at 2:00 PM EST.