Texas Senior Circuit: Lindsey McKnight Doubles, Dara Torres Strong

COLLEGE STATION, Texas, May 24. THE final night of long course meter swimming at the Texas Senior Circuit meet in College Station featured some strong swims.

While Torres could not replicate her American record performances in the 50 free like she did in the 50 fly the first day, Torres still posted a pair of sterling times in the splash-and-dash. Torres qualified in 24.73 and won the event in 24.62. Both efforts were still far from her American record of 24.07, but still strong readouts in the end. Coral Springs' teammate Arlene Semeco placed second in 25.22 with Mustang Martina Moravcova finishing third in 25.59.

The distance freestyle events were held prior to the evening's finals session. Longhorn's Susana Escobar topped the women's 800 free in 8:55.85, while First Colony's Kirsten Groome finished second in 9:00.94. The Woodlands' Erin Foster claimed third in 9:17.31. Longhorn swept the distance free events when Michael Klueh earned the men's 1500 free title in 15:49.31. The Woodlands' Michael McBroom took second in 15:53.25, while Comet Tyler Sell rounded out the top three in 16:05.49.

Coral Springs' Lindsey McKnight posted a 32.34 in the women's 50 breast for the win. Elizabeth Tinnon finished second in 32.56 with Karlee Bispo taking third in 33.97. Coral Springs also won the men's 50 breast when Vlad Polyakov hit the wall in 28.40. Longhorn's Matthew Lowe finished second in 28.84, while Mustang Grega Plevelj placed third in 29.21.

Kathleen Hersey dominated the women's 200 fly with a 2:12.66, nearly four seconds ahead of Longhorn's Kirsty Coventry (2:16.21). Leah Gingrich wound up third in 2:17.56. The Mustangs went 1-2 in the men's 200 fly. Ed Downes paced the finale in 2:04.24 with teammate Blaz Korosec taking second in 2:05.19. Klueh earned a bronze in 2:05.99.

The Mustangs went 1-2 again, this time in the women's 100 back. Petra Klosova took the win in 1:03.05 with teammate Anja Carman placing second in 1:03.07. Blue Tide's Jillian Vitarius placed third in 1:03.68 with A&M's Julia Wilkinson touching fourth in 1:04.69. Along with teammate Kristen Heiss, Wilkinson returned from nine months off due to a shoulder surgery.

Timothy Johnson walked away with the men's 100 back crown in 57.07, touching out Mustangs' Pontus Renholm (57.11) for the win. Alan Maher captured third with a time of 58.85.

McKnight returned for her second victory of the night when she posted a 2:17.19 in the women's 200 IM. Bispo finished second in 2:20.58, while Aggie's Melissa Hain placed third in 2:21.99. Coral Springs' Leopold Andara clinched the men's 200 IM title in 2:05.87. Johnson finished second in 2:06.31 with The Woodlands' Gray Umbach placing third in 2:12.11.

Longhorn went 1-2-3 in the men's 50 free to close down the meet. Dave Walters won in 22.71 with American-record holder Garrett Weber-Gale finishing second in 22.90. Jonathan Jackson took third in 23.41.