Texas Senior Circuit, Austin: Aaron Peirsol Concludes Meet on High Note, Karlee Bispo Doubles Again

AUSTIN, Texas, July 11. THE Texas Senior Circuit meet held in Austin came to a close with long course meter action on display.

Aaron Peirsol, fresh off a sterling time in the men's 200 back last night, cruised to victory in the men's 100 back with a 54.35. That improved upon his previous 20th-ranked season best of 54.59 to jump to 12th in the world. Austin Surhoff finished second in 56.15, while Tim Johnson earned third in 57.06.

Karlee Bispo earned the women's 200 IM title in 2:14.89, while Kathleen Hersey placed second in 2:15.71. Susana Escobar completed the top three in 2:22.69. Bispo returned one event later to double up with a 55.48 in the women's 100 free. Samantha Tucker took second in 56.43, while Hersey earned her second podium in as many events with a third-place 57.16.

Eric Shanteau touched out Surhoff, 2:02.89 to 2:02.93, in the men's 200 IM finale. Bryan Collins placed third in 2:04.88. In another close contest, Dave Walter edged Garrett Weber-Gale, 49.67 to 49.95, in the men's 100 free. Ricky Berens wound up third in 50.53.

Merritt Krawczyk topped the women's 50 breast in 33.92, while Whitney Spain finished second in 34.06. Romy Landeck placed third in 34.92. Matt Hoyland earned the men's 50 breast title in 29.38. Dale Rogers touched second in 29.62, while Conor Carlucci rounded out the podium in 30.06.

Jessica Guro snagged the women's 100 back crown in 1:03.60, while Hersey continued her busy schedule with a third podium after a second-place 1:04.20. Lauren Harrington touched third in 1:04.77. Harrington followed in the women's 50 fly with a winning 27.73. Guro placed second in 28.71, while Brooke Watson took third in 28.98. Boris Loncaric claimed the men's 50 fly in 24.53, while Andrew Wang took second in 25.62. Tripp Cooper placed third in 25.78.

In distance action, Kelsey Leneave won the women's 800 free in 8:51.70, while Maureen McLaine finished second in 8:55.66. Erin Flanigan completed the podium with a third-place 9:00.24. Reed Snyder captured the men's 1500 free in 16:18.82, while Daniel Graviss touched second in 16:20.48. Jake Ritter garnered third in 16:25.46.