Texas Men and Women Dominate Night Two of Hall of Fame Invite

Photo Courtesy: Andy Ringgold/Aringo

By Jason Tillotson. 

The University of Texas Hall of Fame Invitational got underway last night with relay-only action, as the men and women both competed in the 800 free relays, with Southern California’s quartet winning the women’s race and Texas taking the men’s.

USC’s squad of Louise Hanson, Tatum Wade, Kirsten Vose and Madison Wright put together an NCAA ‘A’ standard time of 6:56.33.

The Texas Longhorn team of Drew Kibler (who broke the 17-18 NAG record with his 1:32.20 lead-off split), Jeff Newkirk, Austin Katz and Townley Haas produced a 6:14.29, which was good enough for the NCAA ‘A’ cut.

Thursday’s events kicked off with the 200 free relays, where the lady Longhorns saw their first victory of the meet with their team of Grace Ariola, Julia Cook, Anelise Diener and Claire Adams swimming a time of 1:26.84. Arizona was well behind in a 1:28.43 while USC’s squad touched narrowly behind the Wildcats in a time if 1:28.88.

The Texas men continued the Longhorn victory streak by putting up a 1:16.02 with their team of Tate Jackson, Townley Haas, Luke Bowman and John Shebat. Arizona also took second in the men’s race, in a time of 1:17.70. Stanford’s ‘B’ relay actually took third with a time of 1:17.97.

Texas distance star Joanna Evans nailed down a 500 free victory with her NCAA ‘A’ cut time of 4:35.76. Her mark was good enough to get past two lady Wildcats, Kirsten Jacobse (4:36.81) and Hannah Cox (4:38.18), who took second and third, respectively. Notably, Allison Schmitt, who is currently representing Pitchfork Aquatics under Bob Bowman, placed fourth in the field with a time of 4:39.83.

Arizona’s Brooks Fail pulled off the ultimate upset of the night by getting by both Stanford’s Jack LeVant (4:13.11) and Texas’ Drew Kibler (4:15.09). Fail blasted a 4:11.84, a time that currently leads the nation in the event.

The women’s 200 IM saw an NCAA ‘A’ cut with Wisconsin’s Beata Nelson swimming a 1:53.61 to earn a win for the Badgers. USC took second and third with Wade (1:56.77) and Vose (1:57.91).

Stanford’s Abrahm DeVine narrowly edged Texas freshman Matthew Willenb (1:42.77) with his swift time of 1:42.71. Willenb’s teammate, Ryan Harty, took third in 1:44.41.

Lady Longhorn Grace Ariola, who was an essential part of the victorious Longhorn 200 free relay from earlier in the evening, took the win in the only sub-22 time of 21.86. USC’s Marta Ciesla swam a 22.03 to pass Arizona’s Katrina Konopka who posted a 22.19.

Texas sprint man Tate Jackson earned a win for his home team in a 19.16 while the Trojan’s earned second with Nikola Miljenic‘s 19.36. Harvard’s Dean Farris posted 19.43 to earn third.

The Texas women earned yet another victory, this time in the 400 medley relay, with their team of Claire Adams, Olivia Anderson, Remedy Rule and Grace Ariola who were able to put together a 3:29.99 and earn an NCAA ‘A’ cut time. The Trojans took second in 3:31.15 and Wisconsin swam a 3:33.33 for third.

Longhorn quartet of Austin Katz, Charles Scheinfeld, Jacob Huerta and Townley Haas took the win in the men’s race with a 3:05.65. USC took second with a time of 3:06.39, which contained a monster 50.81 breaststroke split from Carsten Vissering. Arizona was just behind in third, with a time of 3:06.65.

For full results of tonight’s action and live results for the rest of the meet, click here.

1 comment