Texas Invitational: Madisyn Cox, Longhorns Clock 3 More Records

Texas All-American Madisyn Cox. Photo Courtesy: Andy Ringgold/Aringo

The Texas women’s swimming & diving team swam to four school records in the first two nights of the Texas Invitational.

Madisyn Cox was right in the middle of all of them.

Cox won the 200 IM (1:52.83) in an NCAA “A” cut. Cox’s time was the fastest in the nation this season. The 10-time All-American toppled the seven-year-old school mark of 1:53.33 set by two-time U.S. Olympian Kathleen Hersey at the 2009 NCAA Championships.

She finished well ahead of USC’s Louise Hansson (1:55), who also clocked an NCAA “A” cut.

Cox teamed with Tasija Karosas, Remedy Rule and Rebecca Millard to win the 400 medley relay (3:29.77), ahead of Arizona’s school-record-setting team of Taylor Garcia, Kennedy Lohman, Annie Ochitwa and Katrina Konopa (3:30.26).

Karosas led off the relay in 51.08 and lowered her own school mark of 51.40 from the 2016 Big 12 Championships.

On Wednesday, Texas broke a seven-year old school record in the 800 freestyle relay.

Texas won the event with room to spare at 6 minutes, 56.52 seconds, good for an NCAA automatic-qualifying mark and the No. 2 time in the country this season.

Cox led off the relay in 1:43.62 before Olympian Joanna Evans split 1:46.31. Freshman Claire Adams split 1:43.05 and Karosas anchored in 1:43.54. The final mark of 6:56.52 eclipsed the previous school mark of 6:58.37 set by Karlee Bispo, Leah Gingrich, Katie Riefenstahl and Hersey at the 2009 Big 12 Championships. Arizona followed in second at 7:01.08.

Konopa, Ochitwa, Laura Kurki and Morgan Ginnis won the 200 freestyle relay in an NCAA automatic qualifying time of 1:27.67, holding off Texas (1:28.19).

Konopka won the 50 freestyle (21.9) ahead of UCLA’s Linnea Mack (21.93), both in NCAA provisional cuts.

Wisconsin’s Cierra Runge won the 500 freestyle (4:35.55) in an automatic NCAA cut.

In the men’s meet, Tate Jackson, Brett Ringgold, John Shebat and Jack Conger won the 200 freestyle relay (1:16.73) for the Longhorns. Shebat, Conger, Will Licon and Ringgold won the 400 medley relay (3:05.63), an “A” cut.

Clark Smith earned another win for the Longhorns in the 500 freestyle (4:11.20) an NCAA “A” cut, followed by three Stanford swimmers — Grant Shoults (4:12.03), True Sweetser (4:12.97) and Liam Egan (4:12.99) — who also earned NCAA “A” cuts.

Stanford’s Abrahm DeVine won the 200 IM (1:43.02) an NCAA “B” cut.

BYU’s Payton Sorenson won the 50 freestyle (19.22) finishing just a tenth ahead of USC’s Dylan Carter (19.32).

Associated Links

  • NCAA Division I Swimming and Diving Championships
  • Christine Marshall