Team New Zealand Claims 5 Golds on Night 3 of 2017 TYR Fran Crippen Memorial SMOC

Photo Courtesy: Taylor Brien

The third night of competition at the 2017 TYR Fran Crippen Memorial SMOC saw Abbey Weitzeil top the women’s splash and dash, while Team New Zealand collected five of the eight individual gold medals for night three.

Katie McLaughlin, swimming unattached, picked up the win in the women’s 200 free on night three. McLaughlin posted a 2:00.94 to slide past her prelims swim of 2:02.22. New Zealand’s Georgia Marris grabbed a narrow second place over Mission Viejo’s Ella Ristic as the two stopped the clock at times of 2:01.38 and 2:01.43 respectively.

New Zealand’s Matt Stanley delivered the top time in the men’s 200 free, stopping the clock at a 1:48.91 to scrape 3.08 seconds off his prelims swim of 1:51.99. Dylan Carter, swimming unattached, grabbed second overall with a 1:49.43, while Cal’s Tom Shields finished third with a 1:50.17.

Riley Scott swam away with the competition in finals of the women’s 200 breast, posted a dominating 2:31.99 to finish more than three seconds ahead of the competition. Isabelle Odgers turned in a 2:35.00 for second, followed by Juliana Witting’s third-place finish of 2:39.11. All three swimmers swam unattached.

The New Zealand men continued to throw down top times as George Schroder grabbed a dynamic win in the men’s 200 breast. Schroder delivered a 2:14.83 for the gold, scraping 2.36 seconds off his prelims swim of 2:17.19. TRA’s AJ Pouch was second overall wit ha 2:17.00, just ahead of Zane Backes, swimming unattached, and his time of 2:19.01.

Abbey Weitzeil and Canyon Aquatics’ Amanda Kendall went head-to-head once again with a sprint showdown in the women’s 50 free. This time it was Weitzeil who claimed victory, stopping the clock at a sizzling 25.35 over Kendall’s 25.47. Weitzeil’s teammate Amy Bilquist finished third overall with a 25.71.

Daniel Hunter of New Zealand earned yet another victory for the Kiwis, delivering the only sub-23 second swim in the men’s 50 free. Hunter posted a 22.94 for gold, followed by Mason Tittle’s 23.56. Nate Biondi, swimming unattached, rounded out the podium with a 23.62.

New Zealand’s Helena Gasson continued the Kiwi power with a dominating finish in the women’s 400 IM. Gasson swam ahead of the competition to claim gold with a 4:45.32, finishing more than seven seconds ahead of the competition. Katie Glavinovich, swimming unattached, grabbed second overall with a 4:52.56, followed by CITI’s Jasmine Margetts’ 4:56.82.

Bradlee Ashby closed out the individual events with another gold medal for Team New Zealand. Ashby posted a 4:23.80 to win the men’s 400 IM, just ahead of Abrahm DeVine’s time of 4:24.17. Curtis Ogren, swimming unattached, was third overall with a 4:28.04.

All results can be found on Meet Mobile – 2017 CA TYR/MVN Fran Crippen Mem SMOC

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Jane Logan
6 years ago

Phenomenal! Congratulations all of you – training in The hills paid dividends
Keep rolling all the way to Budapest

Thomas A. Small
6 years ago

Congratulations to all

Charlene Tallen
6 years ago

Debbie Tallen and Amanda Tallen! Tell New Zealand to keep funding their National swimming program!!

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x