Team GB dominates in Germany

BERLIN, Germany, March 1. TEAM GB continued their successful streak on day two of the ISM 2014 in Berlin, Germany. Seven out of the ten A-finals of the day were won by a swimmer from Britain, two even set new meet records.

Team GB were off to an impressive start in the first race of the day, the women’s 100m breaststroke. Molly Renshaw swam to victory with a time of 1:09.51, close to the meet record of 1:09.15 set in 2007. Second after Renshaw were her teammates Kathryn Johnston (1:10.09) and Corrie Scott (1.10.39). Fourth-placed Hayley Monteith who finished with 1:10.70 and seventh-placed Rachel O’Donnell (1:11.98) rounded out the good result for Team GB in the first race.

Chris Walker-Hebborn also was shy of a meet record in the men’s 100m backstroke. He hit the wall after 54.15, ahead of Latvia’s Janis Saltans who swam a 55.89 and British Jonathan Carlisle who posted a 56.70.

Siobhan O’Connor who already won the women’s 200m IM and set a meet record in that event on the previous day, swam to her second victory of the meet in the 100m butterfly. She won with a time of 58.81, ahead of the Slovakian Katarina Listopadova (59.02) and the German Alexandra Wenk (59.49). It was the first time of the day a German swimmer ended up on the podium.

Philip Heintz also swam to his second victory of the meet shortly after. Heintz had won men’s 200m IM on the previous day and now swam to win the 100m butterfly in 53.52, making it the first win for Team Germany at the local meet. Heintz placed ahead of Team GB’s Joe Roebuck (53.73) and Sam Horrocks (53.92).

After his win yesterday in the 200m breastroke, Marco Koch set out for his second win of the meet in front of a local crowd, but in the 50m breaststroke he came second to Team GB’s Adam Peaty. Peaty swam a 27.51 which was also a new meet record. Koch posted a 28.02, just ahead of British Christopher Steeples who finished in 28.13.

It was then again Siobhan O’Connor who swam the second meet record of the day. In the women’s 50m butterfly she swam a 26.45, a time which equaled the previous meet record set in 2013. She won ahead of Louise Hansson from Sweden who posted a 26.62 and Anna Ntountounak who finished in 27.37.

You can find all results of day two of the ISM 2014 here.