Sullivan Award Finalists Announced

ORLANDO, FL – Swimmers Chad Carvin and Jenny Thompson; former Florida State baseball star J.D. Drew, Tennessee quarterback Peyton Manning and Tim Duncan, a former Wake Forest basketball star who now plays for the San Antonio Spurs, are among the 10 finalists for the 1997 James E. Sullivan Memorial Award. The award is given annually by the Amateur Athletic Union to the nation’s top amateur athlete. The other finalists announced were: world champion wrestler Les Gutchers, Tennessee basketball player Chamique Holdsclaw, South Carolina softball pitcher Trinity Johnson, Women in Disability Sport Committee founder Linda Mastandrea, and gymnast Blaine Wilson. The 68th annual Sullivan Award, to be determined by 1,200 voters nationwide, will be announced in late January or early February.

Comments Off on Sullivan Award Finalists Announced

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here