SEC Weekly Recaps: Georgia tops UNC; Auburn sweeps Wisconsin

Georgia's Megan Kingsley. Photo Courtesy: Andy Ringgold/Aringo

By Dan D’Addona.

The Georgia women’s swimming and diving team opened its defense of its NCAA championship with a win over North Carolina on Friday.

The Bulldogs dominated with a 179-119 victory, while the Georgia men won 162.5-132.5. The women are 23-0 all-time against the Tar Heels.

Megan Kingsley led the Georgia women with three individual victories. The junior won the 100 butterfly (53.07), the 200 butterfly (1:54.90) and the 200 individual medley (1:59.11).

Emily Cameron and Stephanie Peters had two victories apiece. Cameron swept the 100 and 200 breaststroke in 1:03.68 and 2:17.27, respectively. Peters won the 500 freestyle in 4:47.53 and the 1,000 freestyle in 9:46.55.

Olympian Chantal Van Landeghem won the 100 freestyle with a time of 49.96. Meaghan Raab won the 200 freestyle in 1:47.87 and Meryn McCann won 200 backstroke in 1:57.87.

The 200 medley relay of Kylie Stewart, Cameron, Kingsley and Van Landeghem won with a time of 1:40.13.

In the men’s meet, Pace Clark joined Olympians Chase Kalisz, Jay Litherland and Javier Acevedo as double winners on Friday. Clark swept the 100 and 200 butterfly races in 48.37 and 1:47.03. Returning to Georgia after a redshirt season to train for the Olympics, Kalisz took the 200 freestyle in 1:36.60 and the 200 breaststroke in 1:56.08. Litherland had the meet’s fastest times in the 200 backstroke (1:46.33) and the 200 individual medley (1:49.73). Acevedo, in his Georgia debut, won the 100 freestyle in 45.11 and the 100 backstroke in 47.74.

Chris Powell reached the wall in 20.77 to take the 50 freestyle and Kevin Litherland won the 1,000 freestyle in 9:17.44.


Wisconsin vs. Auburn

The Auburn men and women used their star power to sweep Wisconsin.

The Auburn men won a total of nine events and won the meet 156-144 while the women won 10 events in winning 165-135.

Joe Patching won three individual events for the men and Natasha Lloyd and Ashley Neidigh each won two for the women.

Patching won the 100 backstroke (48.68), the 200 backstroke (1:46.44) and the 400 IM (3:53.05) and was also on the winning 200 medley relay (1:28.49).

Luis Martinez, an Olympian for Guatemala in Rio, swept the butterfly events, winning the 100 in 47.89 and the 200 in 1:48.05. He was on the winning 200 medley relay.

Auburn’s men also swept the breaststroke events with Michael Duderstadt winning the 100 (55.69) and Tommy Brewer winning the 200 (2:04.57).

Pete Turnham won the 1-meter springboard with a zone qualifying score of 334.05

In the women’s meet, Lloyd, swept the breaststroke events in 1:02.86 and 2:15.57, respectively.

Neidigh, also a senior, won the 500 freestyle (4:50.29) and the 1,000 free (9:50.08).

Other event winners for the women included Jessica Merritt in the 200 free (1:48.92), Bailey Nero in the 200 butterfly (2:00.84), Julie Meynen in the 100 free (50.05), Aly Tetzloff in the 100 butterfly (54.13) and Zoe Thatcher in the 400 IM (4:20.48).


LSU at FGCU Classic

The LSU women used their depth to win the Florida Gulf Coast Classic with 495 points. The men finished third.

The women’s 400 medley relay team of Makenna Wilson, Colleen O’Neil, Kara Kopcso and Leah Troskot finished first with a time of 3:42.50.

O’Neil touched the wall first in the 200 breaststroke, securing a time of 2:16.65. Wilson took second in the 100 back with a time of 56.46, and Troskot also garnered a second place finish in the 100 free, tallying a time of 50.24. Kopsco finished third in the 200 butterfly (1:59.86). Sophie Weber took second at 2:03.10 in the 200 IM. Kopcso took third in the 100 IM with a time of 56.84. In the 500 free, Devon Dabney took third 4:58.18.

The team of Kate Zimmer, Haylee Knight, Troskot and Dabney combined for third place in the 200 free relay.

In the men’s meet, Karl Luht, Silas Dejean, Logan Rysemus and Jake Markham took second in the 400 medley relay, finishing in 3:18.88. Brandon Goldman took second in the 100 IM at 51.84.

Freshman Sven Saemundsson won the 500 free, completing the event with a time of 4:28.24. In the 200 breaststroke, Garrett House was third (2:03.02).

Rysemus touched the wall first in the 100 backstroke, securing a time of 48.06. In the 200 butterfly, Alarii Levreault-Lopez claimed second place with a final time of 1:49.81.