Santiago Grassi Sets 100 Fly Record at Argentina Nationals

Argentina flag

Santiago Grassi was one of three Argentine swimmers to add their names to the national records book last night. Three seemed to be the magic number again on day three, where a trio of national records fell tonight.

One night after setting a new national record in the men’s 200-meter fly, Grassi took down another fly record in the 100-meter race. His 52.16 bested Jose Martin Meolans’s 52.26 set in 2002. Agustin Elio Acosto (54.17) and Nicolas Deferrari (55.86) were second and third, respectively.

Esteban Paz’s 14:51.78 national record in the men’s 1500-meter free fell after Martin Naidich gutted out a 14:50.33. The 800-meter free champ Ivo Cassini fell to second with a 15:17.23. Martin Carrizo Yunges dropped a handful of time from his seed to go 15:21.24.

Julia Sebastián set a new national record in the women’s 100-meter IM with her 1:02.84. The previous record of 1:02.96 held by Manuela Morano stood since 2011. Morano, now 27, went a 1:05.03 to get second, while Ana Belen Presumido finished third in 1:06.25.

Juan Manuel Villaraza (23.17) narrowly won the men’s 50-meter free over Joaquín Serra (23.20). Gabriel Morelli took third in 23.23. Their finishing order replicated the same top three from the prelims session.

Cecilia Bertoncello continued her string of success by winning the women’s 50-meter back in convincing fashion. Her 27.98 victory was only 0.05 seconds off her national record time set in 2010. Luciana Gomez Devecchi clocked a 30.25 to get second, while Magali Fernandez de Landa posted a 30.46 to get third.

After a relaxed prelims swim, Julia Sebastián busted out a 2:23.21 victory in the women’s 200-meter breast. Ana Belen Presumido was a distant second with a 2:35.93. Fiamma Peroni rounded up the top three with a 2:43.34.

The upstart Delfina Pignatiello resumed her freestyle dominance in the women’s 200-meter free, winning in 2:02.14. Malena Zoe Lair Ferrari (2:05.70) touched out Florencia Panzini (2:05.71) to grab second place.

Joe Alberto Vera Ortiz Molina took the men’s 200-meter IM in 2:01.05 and missed the national record by only 0.02 seconds. Nicolas Deferrari swam a 2:05.38 to get second, and Thomas Joaquin Silva was a close third at a 2:05.38.

Argentina Short Course National end tomorrow.

2015 Argentina Short Course Championships: Day Three – Results

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x