Royal Dutch Swimming Federation Sending 15 To 2016 SC World Championships

Ranomi Kromowidjojo
Photo Courtesy: Joao Marc Bosch

The Royal Dutch Swimming Federation, Koninklijke Nederlandse Zwembond (KNZB), recently announced a fifteen-member team for the rapidly approaching 2016 FINA SC World Championships, to be held in Windsor, Canada from December 6-11.

The team will be led by coaches Mark Faber and Marcel Wouda, and supported by Elsbeth van Threshing (doctor), Patrick Martens (phsiotherapist), and Sander Ganzevles (racing analyst).

Three-time Olympian Ranomi Kromowidjojo and Rio 10K gold medalist Sharon van Rouwendaal highlight the women’s team. Kromowidjojo, who has been recovering after a debilitating back injury that left her off the podium in Rio, will be looking for success in both the 50 and 100 free, while van Rouwendaal will take advantage of a Ledecky-free field in both the 400 and 800 free.

Women’s Team:

  • Kim Busch (50 free, 100 fly)
  • Ranomi Kromowidjojo (50 free, 100 free)
  • Maud van der Meer (relay)
  • Robin Neumann (relay)
  • Sharon van Rouwendaal (400 free, 800 free)
  • Marrit Steenbergen (1000 free, 200 free, 100 IM)
  • Kira Toussaint (100 back)
  • Tamara van Vliet (relay)
  • Maaike de Waard (50 back, 50 fly)

Men’s Team:

  • Maarten Brzoskowski (relay)
  • Dion Dreesens (relay)
  • Nyls Korstanje (50 free, 100 free)
  • Jesse Puts (50 free)
  • Ben Schwietert (relay)
  • Kyle Stolk (100 free, 200 free, 100 IM, 200 IM)

Read the full press release (in Dutch) here