Rose-Hulman, Wheaton Win CCIW Champs

Wheaton College 2015 Swimming Invitational, Friday Prelims, December 4, 2015
Photo Courtesy: Michael Hudson

The Rose-Hulman men and Wheaton women took home the College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin title. The Rose-Hulman men scored 883 points, just beating Carthage College. The Wheaton women wracked up 867 points, winning the meet by over 200 points.

Rose-Hulman’s Ellie Hong won the 200-yard backstroke with a time of 2:00.66. Illinois Wesleyan’s Baylee Hoecker finished second and Augustana’s Allison Patch took third. In the men’s event, Wheaton’s Chris Szymczak touched first with a time of 1:48.04. The Carthage teammates of Sam Gabriel and Mitch Scarski took second and third, respectively.

In the women’s 100-yard freestyle, Kirsty Nitz of Wheaton took first with a time of 51.54. Illinois Wesleyan’s Kirsten Slaughter was second and Wheaton’s Sarah Coley touched third. Wheaton swimmers took the top two spots in the men’s race. Jack O’Connor touched first with a time of 45.69 and Jacob Clement was second. Rose-Hulman’s Orion Martin was third.

Wheaton’s Erin Bagley touched first in the women’s 200-yard breaststroke with a time of 2:19.46. Her teammates Kayla Roberson and Katie Deysher touched second and third. In the men’s race, Wheaton’s Elliot Penson was first with a time of 2:00.86. Carthage’s Chris Riordan was second and Rose-Hulman’s Alexander Yaung touched third.

The next event was the women’s 200-yard butterfly. Wheaton’s Nicole Eklund took the race with a time of 2:12.67. Milikin’s Caroline Lodovisi was second and Augustana’s Mia Polinski was third. Rose-Hulman’s Patrick King won the men’s race in 1:50.99. Wheaton’s Chris Dingfield and Rose-Hulman’s Matt Schulstad were second and third, respectively.

The day concluded with the men’s and women’s 400-yard freestyle relay.

In the women’s race, Illinois Wesleyan took first place. The team of Lisa Cheng, Meg Stanley, Baylee Hoecker and Kirsten Slaughter touched in 3:29.68.

Carthage took the men’s race in 3:04.59. The team consisted of James Weslaski, James Hasbrouck, Lee Hollman and Chris Russo. 

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x