Reese Named USOC Coach of the Year

LA JOLLA, Calif., June 24. EDDIE Reese (Austin, Texas / Longhorn), who coached seven swimmers that accounted for nine U.S. medals (eight gold and one silver) at the 2005 World Championships, was named the 2005 United States Olympic Committee National Coach of the Year Friday night at the Night of Champions event in La Jolla, Calif.

“This is a special award and that makes it a very special honor,” Reese said. “A lot of good people were up for this award, and I’m surprised I won. Any one of them could have won.”

Reese, the head men’s swimming coach at the University of Texas saw his athletes combine to break three world records in 2005, with Aaron Peirsol surpassing his own marks in the 100m and 200m backstroke and Ian Crocker breaking his own 100m butterfly record. He also coached Brendan Hansen, world champ in the 100 and 200 breaststrokes. Reese was named the World Swimming Coaches Association 2005 Terao Award winner, naming him the coach of the 2001-04 quadrennium.

Other finalists for the USOC National Coach of the Year were Mike Candrea (Tucson, Ariz. / USA Softball), Gail Goestenkors (Hillsborough, N.C. / USA Basketball), David Johnson (Colorado Springs, Colo. / USA Shooting) and Bobby Kersee (Ballwin, Mo. / USA Track & Field).

Comments Off on Reese Named USOC Coach of the Year

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here