Reece Whitley, Brett Feyerick Claim New NAG Records at Day 3 of 2015 NCAP Invite (Videos Interviews)

Reece Whitley - Inter-Ac League
Photo Courtesy: Brent Rutemiller

Day three of the 2015 NCAP Invitational saw two new National Age Group records being shattered. Reece Whitley blasted his way to a new 15-16 boys NAG in the 200-yard breaststroke just one day after barely missing the 15-16 100-yard breaststroke NAG. Whitley stopped the clock at 1:53.66 to lower the previous record of 1:54.87 previously held by Andrew Seliskar.

Twelve-year-old Brett Feyerick followed Whitley’s lead and posted a new boys 11-12 NAG record in the 50-yard backstroke. Feyerick turned in a final time of 24.22 to edge past Vinny Marciano’s 24.32 from one year ago.

Katie Ledecky challenged her own American Record of 4:26.58 in the girls open 500-yard free during finals posting a time of 4:28.17. While Ledecky did not lower her American Record she did break the pool record at the University of Maryland twice first turning in a 4:30.42 in prelims before settling on her time of 4:28.17 in finals.

Cassidy Bayer of NCAP grabbed the win in the girls open 200-yard fly with a final time of 1:55.94. Teammate Kylie Jordan finished second overall with a time of 1:59.70, while Jasmine Hellmer, also of NCAP, touched third with a 1:59.89.

Sam Pomajevich of NCAP took first in the boys open 200-yard fly with a time of 1:44.65. NCAC’s Will Macmillan finished second with a time of 1:45.16, while NOVA’s David Dixon was third with a 1:46.47.

James Murphy of Machine Aquatics delivered a swift 4:22.69 to win the boys open 500-yard free. NCAP’s Matthew Hirschberger (4:24.71) and Lane Stone (4:24.91) finished second and third respectively.

The girls open 50-yard free was a close race with NCAP’s Morgan Hill edging ahead to finish first with a 22.78. PSDN’s Casey Fanz was a close second, finishing only .03 seconds behind Hill with a time of 22.81.

MAC’s Eric Knight sprinted ahead of the competition in the boys open 50-yard free turning in a time of 19.63 to be the only athlete under the 20-second mark. Cody Bollinger of PSDN finished second overall with a 20.39, while NCAP’s James Jones touched a slim .01 behind for third and a time of 20.40.

Anna Belousova of NCAP turned in a final time of 2:10.14 to finish first in the girls open 200-yard breaststroke. Allie Szekely of CBST finished a little more than a second behind with a 2:11.42 for second, while CPAC’s Kaki Christensen was third with a 2:14.26.

Annie Boone of NCAP grabbed first in the girls open 100-yard back with a final time of 53.99. Alex Sumner of SSC and Szekely battled for second with Sumner getting her hand on the wall first. Sumner turned in a time of 54.30 over Szkeley’s 54.38.

Macmillan was the only athlete under the 49-second mark in the boys open 100-yard back, stopping the clock at 48.60. Bollinger finished second overall with a 49.21, while Dylan Davis took third with a 29.89.


  • Abby Harter–NCAP, girls 200-yard Fly (2:04.03)
  • Leo Goldblatt–NCAP, boys 200-yard Fly (1:58.44)
  • Katie Mack–NCAP, girls 50-yard Free (22.73)
  • Nick Torres–WEST, boys 50-yard Free (21.81)
  • Kate Douglass–WEST, girls 200-yard Breaststroke (2:12.81)
  • Nik Daly–SSC, boys 200-yard Breaststroke (2:09.25)
  • Phoebe Bacon–NCAP, girls 100-yard Back (54.35)
  • Nick Torres–WEST, boys 100-yard Back (51.69)
  • Claire Nguyen–NCAP, girls 500-yard Free (4:58.36)
  • Connor Bitz–EST, boys 500-yard Free (4:43.96)


  • Meghan Lynch–DOLPHINS, girls 100-yard Breaststroke (1:05.15); girls 200-yard IM (2:06.61)
  • Johnny Bradshaw–MACH, boys 100-yard Breaststroke (1:07.19)
  • Mairin O’Brien–LESD, girls 50-yard Free (24.91)
  • Pierre Koenig–SSC, boys 50-yard Free (24.19); boys 200-yard IM (2:11.92)
  • Joy Jiang–WEST, girls 50-yard Back (27.16)
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Bill Bell
7 years ago

Bayer’s gonna be an NCAA champ for somebody and likely an Okympian too before she hangs ’em up — GUARANAND–NTEED.