Ramapo Swimming Opens Season With Win Against Farleigh Dickinson Florham

Photo Courtesy: Ramapo Athletics

Ramapo swimming kicked off the 2015-16 season with a sweep of Farleigh Dickinson Florham.

Ramapo Press Release:

The Lady Roadrunner swim team opened the 2015-2016 season tonight with a 102-66 victory over the Devils of FDU Florham to start the year at 1-0 overall. With the loss the Devils open the season at 0-1.

The 200-yard medley relay team took 1st and 2nd place as Julia Housel, Samantha Chan, Maggie Herbert, and Sarah Stacey combined efforts to touch the poolside in 1:56.83 for a 1st place ribbon. Cara Housel, Brenda Arthur, Danielle Bach, and Devan Swistack placed 2nd in the same event in 2:00.23. Ana Nunez placed 1st in the 1,000-yard freestyle in 12:36.13 and Tori Barnes placed 2nd in 12:39.69. The 200-yard freestyle went to Veronica Drozdzewicz in 2:06.83 while the 50-yard free went to Herbert in 24.74. Caitlyn Bach took 2nd place in 25.82 seconds.

The Lady Roadrunners took 1-3 in the 200-yard IM as Samantha Chan, Emily Hegarty, and Sarah Kynast finished the race in 2:25.41, 2:32.13, and 2:37.82 respectively. Herbert also earned 1st place in the 100-yard butterfly touching the poolside in 1:03.28.

Ramapo wrapped up the evening with a 1-2 placing in the 200-yard free. Arthur, Bach, Meghan Trewhella, and Stacey finished in 1st place in 1:45.72 and Lene Sansone, Maria Luisi, Fiona Connell, and Drozdzewicz clocked in at 1:50.82.

Ramapo returns to action on Friday, October 23rd when they host Mt. St. Mary at 6pm. They will also host an alumni meet this Saturday at 2pm. Alumni should contact Coach Orr at gorr@ramapo.edu for more information.

The Ramapo College men’s swim team posted a 104-76 victory tonight over the Devils of FDU Florham in their 2015-2016 season opener at the Bradley Center. Ramapo opens the year at 1-0 while FDU takes the loss to start the season at 0-1.

Ramapo’s 200-yard medley teams went 1-2 to collect 15 points for Ramapo as the first team touched the poolside in 1:43.16. The team consisted of Andrew Ramos, Aviad Mana, Evan Graziano and RJ Carillo and was followed by a second Ramapo team in 1:44.46. The second team was comprised of Nicholas Markwell, Jesse Smith, Kyle Jackson, and William Mayer.

Chaz Cella and Dan Drozdzewicz placed 1st and 2nd in the 1,000-yard freestyle respectively as they finished the race in 11:11.27 and 11:27.43. Aspen-Jade Tucker took the 200-yard free in 1:50.74 while Ramos and Charlie May placed 1st and 2nd respectively in the 50-yard freestyle. Ramos touched the poolside in 22.78 seconds and May finished the sprint in 23.25 seconds. The 200-yard IM was dominated by the Roadrunners as Smith, Jackson, and Alexander Barszcz took 1st through 3rd place. Smith clocked in at 2:04.48 and Jackson finished in 2:12.01. Barszcz finished the race in 2:16.63.

Brian Henningsen won the 100-yard butterfly as he touched the poolside in 58.19 and the 200-yard freetstyle team, made up of Tucker, Peter Kellner, Graziano, and Barszcz rounded out the top performances placing 1st in 1:36.19.

Ramapo returns to action on Friday, October 23rd when they host Mt. St. Mary at 6pm at the Bradley Center. They will also host an alumni meet this Saturday at 2pm. Alumni should contact Coach Orr for more info at gorr@ramapo.edu.

Farleigh Dickinson Florham Press Release: