Rachel Bootsma Breaks into the Top 20 World Rankings in the 100 Back During Final Session of the Speedo Grand Challenge

The final session of the Speedo Grand Challenge saw Rachel Bootsma posting a 1:00.39 in the women’s 100 back, earning her a first place finish and a spot in the top 20 world rankings. Elizabeth Pelton finished with a 1:00.95 and Melanie Klaren took third with a 1:02.11.

Tristin Baxter kicked off the final session of the Speedo Grand Challenge with a win in the 800 freestyle with a time of 8:43.19. Madelyn Donohoe finished second with a time of 8:46.11, while Katy Campbell was third with an 8:49.16.

Justine Bowker edged out the competition in the women’s 200 breaststroke with a 2:30.41. She was followed to the wall by Rami Dvariskyte and Kirsten Vose who posted 2:31.32 and 2:32.57 respectively.

BJ Johnson grabbed the title in the men’s 200 breaststroke with a 2:15.30. Glenn Snyders took second with a 2:16.69, while Chuck Katis was third with a 2:17.12.

Ryan Murphy continued his dominance in the backstroke, winning the 100 back with a 54.76. Omar Pinzon and Jacob Pebley fought for second, finishing .10 seconds apart. Pinzon’s 56.05 won out over Pebley’s 56.15 for the second place finish.

Kier Maitland claimed gold in the men’s 1500 free with a time of 15:38.51. Jerald Kaskawal was second with a 15:40.10, and Jared Graham finished third with a 15:41.07.

Stanford’s Maya DiRado took first in the women’s 200 fly with a 2:10.96, dropping 4.32 seconds from her prelims time. Noelle Tarazona was second with a 2:12.56, also dropping a significant 4.00 seconds from her time in prelims. Tara Halsted finished third with a 2:15.55.

The men’s 200 fly saw significant time drops, as well, with the top three finishers shedding a combined 6.17 seconds. Long Gutierrez was the top finisher with a time of 1:59.63. He was followed to the wall by Bobby Bollier (2:00.10) and Adam Henshaw (2:01.92).

The women’s 100 free was a tight race with Simone Manuel and Lia Neal leading the pack. Manuel managed to keep the lead touching with a 54.84 compared to Neal’s 54.90. Stanzi Moseley rounded out the top three with a 56.29.

Nikita Lobintsev won the men’s 100 free with a 48.83, dropping .60 seconds from his prelims time. Cristian Quintero touched second with a 49.50, while Seth Stubblefield was third with a 50.42.

Full results available on Meet Mobile.

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
6 years ago

Way to go Rachel!