Michael Phelps Wins Third “Best Record-Breaking Performance” ESPY; Adds Best Male U.S. Olympian

Photo Courtesy: Rob Schumacher-USA TODAY Sports

After winning an ESPY for Best Record-Breaking Performance in both 2009 and 2013, 28-time Olympic medalist Michael Phelps won his third honor in this category on July 12.

The award marks Phelps’ eighth ESPY award, after winning Best U.S. Male Olympian in 2005, 2009 and 2013, Best Moment in 2009 and Best Male Athlete in 2009.

Phelps later collected the Best Male U.S. Olympic Athlete award, an award which he also won in 2009.

The night includes top celebrities from both sports and entertaining where categories such as “Best Game,” “Best Team,” “Best Upset,” and more. Additionally, the 25th ESPYS include the three pillar awards – the Arthur Ashe Courage Award, the Jimmy V Perseverance Award and the Pat Tillman Award for Service. The 25th ESPYS is an example of ESPN’s ongoing commitment to The V Foundation for Cancer Research, which was launched in 1993 by ESPN and the late Jim Valvano.

More information and a complete list of winners can be found on ESPN.

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Author: Diana Pimer

Diana Pimer was a breaststroke/IMer at Keene State College and is the NEISDA Conference record holder in the 200 IM. She is the assistant swim coach and assistant strength and conditioning coach at Keene State, as well as KSC's head site coach for Greenwood Swimming. Pimer also helped coach 2016 Paralympic bronze medalist Robert Griswold.

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here