Oklahoma Baptist Dominates NAIAs Again

Photo Courtesy: Oklahoma Baptist Athletics

OKLAHOMA CITY – Oklahoma Baptist claimed its fourth men’s and third women’s NAIA Championships titles since opening up a program just four years ago.

Women’s Meet

OBU’s Ines Remersaro touched out Brenau’s Talia Sola, 2:00.27 to 2:00.34, in the women’s 200-yard back.  OBU’s Tammy Price hit the wall third overall in 2:02.64.

OBU’s Laura Galarza posted a top time of 49.63 to win the women’s 100-yard free.  That came up just a bit shy of Cheyenne Coffman’s 2012 NAIA mark of 49.33.

OBU’s Emma Forbes-Milne claimed second in 50.81 with Biola’s Lisa Tixier finishing third in 50.91.

OBU’s Kerryn Mullin took home the women’s 200-yard breaststroke crown in 2:19.83 with Brenau’s Mary Katherine-Jabbia taking second in 2:24.29.  WVU Tech’s Kendra Monnin earned third in 2:24.87.

Biola’s Christine Tixier won her third NAIA title with another record as she clocked a 2:00.89 in the women’s 200-yard fly. That swim beat the 2011 mark of 2:01.41 set by Azusa Pacific’s Kaylen Hewko.

Concord-Irvine’s Baliee Blankemeier placed second in 2:02.80 with Lindsey Wilson’s Laura Stephenson hitting third in 2:06.03.

OBU’s Laura Galarza (49.94), Emma Forbes-Milne (50.47), Andrea Antonissen (50.90) and Lexie Keller (51.80) smashed the NAIA record in the women’s 400-yard free relay with a 3:23.11.  That swim cleared the 2014 record of 3:25.01 set by OBU. SCAD (3:29.44) and Biola (3:29.46) placed second and third.

Top 10 Team Scores

[table “” not found /]

Men’s Meet

SCAD’s Tyler Prescott nearly took down the NAIA record in the men’s 200-yard back with a 1:45.87.  That swim just missed Ryan Searles’ 2012 record of 1:45.61 while swimming for SCAD.

OBU’s Nico Brun took second in 1:47.12 with ONU’s Jacob Anderson placing third in 1:48.30.

OBU went 1-2-3 in the men’s 100-yard free.  Daniel Ramirez won in 43.79, while JP Goyetche touched second in 44.44. Marc Sambolin wound up third in 44.64.

OBU’s Fernando Morillas crushed the NAIA record in the men’s 200-yard breast with a time of 1:56.96.  That swim cleared the 1:59.03 set by OBU’s Gregory Penny last year.

ONU’s Calvin Price finished second in 2:00.72 with SCAD’s Connor Wilson claiming third in 2:01.88.

ONU’s Frank Tapia won the men’s 200-yard fly in 1:47.87.  Teammate Andrew Fischer snared second in 1:50.59 with Cumberlands’ Igor Dozortsev taking third in 1:51.09.

OBU’s JP Goyetche (45.04), Marc Sambolin (44.43), Javier Sossa (44.65) and Daniel Ramirez (42.81) nearly downed the NAIA record with a 2:56.93 to win the men’s 400-yard free relay.  That swim just missed the 2:56.71 set by OBU last year. ONU (2:57.56) and SCAD (3:01.88) rounded out the podium.

Top 10 Team Scores

[table “” not found /]

Full results on Meet Mobile.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x