Ohio Senior Swimming Championships

By Candice Peak

MIAMI, Ohio. March 12. MANY meet records were taken down during the Ohio Senior short course yard Swimming Championships at the Corwin M. Nixon Aquatic Center at Miami University.

Kate McNeilis from Westerville Aquatic Club (WAC), who is headed to the University of Tennessee in the fall, won four individual events, breaking some meet records along the way. McNeilis won the 50 free (23.39), 100 free (50.33), 100 back (54.86), and 200 back (1:58.10). McNeilis' times in the 100 free and 200 back broke meet records and her time in the 100 back broke both the meet record and the Ohio LSC Open record which was previously set 26 years ago by Betsey Mitchell.

Amanda Traylor, a junior from Ohio University had two individual wins including the 200 free (1:49.44), which was a new meet record, and the 400 IM (4:47.74), missing the meet record by .01. Teammate Liz Bishop, a freshman, picked up an individual win in the 200 breast (2:20.61).

Former Ohio State swimmer Griet Buelens added to the list of broken meet records by taking down Whitney Meyers' 10 year old record in the 500 free (4:50.25). Buelens also broke a meet record in the 1000 free (9:59.74) and also won the 200 fly (2:00.89).

More record breaking swims came from Upper Arlighton Swim Club swimmer Abby Chin and Mason Manta Rays swimmer Danielle Jansen. Chin broke a 9 year old record in the 1650 free (16:48.52) and also swam to a win in the 200 IM (2:03.50). Jansen won two events and broke meet records in both events including the 100 breast (1:04.20) and 100 fly (55.17).

WAC won three relays for the women including the 200 free relay (1:34.50), 400 free relay (3:29.23), and 800 free relay (7:30.28). The 200 free relay broke a 14 year old meet record previously held by Miami University and broke the meet record in the 800 free relay, lowering the mark by more than 6 seconds.

The Mason Manta Rays had a record breaking relay swim in the 400 medley relay (3:49.01) which was previously set by Ohio State 15 years ago and also won the 200 medley relay (1:45.29).

Nick Schuttinger from Ohio State impressively won five individual events including the 200 free (1:41.75), 200 fly (1:51.31), 200 IM (1:50.56), 400 IM (3:58.26), and 100 fly (48.63). Schuttinger's winning time in the 100 fly tied Horza Vitazka's record, set 10 years ago. Andrew Spurling, a sophomore at Ohio State won two events including the 100 back (50.29) and 200 back (1:50.54) Also winning from Ohio State was freshmen Joe Albers and Blaine Kincaid who won the 100 breast (57.43) and 200 breast (2:05.41) respectively.

Rowan Williams from the Greater Toledo Aquatic Club (GTAC) won three events individually including the 500 free (4:34.77), 1000 free (9:31.64), and 1650 free (16:08.42).

Eric Huffman from Upper Arlington Swim Club and freshman from the University of Michigan, won the sprint freestyle events including the 50 free (20.90) and 100 free (45.18).

Ohio State men won the 400 free relay (3:11.25) and the 400 medley relay (3:31.37). GTAC won the 800 free relay (7:00.52) and New Albany Aquatics Club won the 200 medley relay (1:35.58).

The Mason Manta Rays won the championships with 1528 points, Westerville Aquatic Club came in second with 1226 points, and Cincinnati Aquatic Club came in third with 1185 points.