Off Deck, Dec. 8, 2016: Analyzing Male World Swimmer of the Year Honors

Photo Courtesy: Swimming World

On Wednesday, Off Deck featured discussion of this year’s Female World Swimmer of the Year balloting. Today’s episode discusses the men’s awards. Michael Phelps was named World Swimmer of the Year for a record-eighth time, and Adam PeatyKosuke Hagino and Chad le Clos all won regional honors.

SwimVortex’s John Lohn returned to discuss his ballots with Off Deck host David Rieder. Both voted for Phelps for World Swimmer of the Year, and they explained why they felt it was appropriate to honor the greatest swimmer of all-time. They also discussed the difficult decision that was presented when voting for Pacific Rim Swimmer of the Year and reflected on their top moments of 2016.

Watch the full episode here, and check back next week for new episodes of Off Deck!

Comments Off on Off Deck, Dec. 8, 2016: Analyzing Male World Swimmer of the Year Honors

Author: David Rieder

David Rieder is a staff writer for Swimming World. He has contributed to the magazine and website since 2009, and he has covered the NCAA Championships, U.S. Nationals, Olympic Trials as well as the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio and the 2017 World Championships in Budapest. He is a native of Charleston, S.C., and a 2016 graduate of Duke University.

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here