Oakland University Leads After Day 1 of Horizon League Championships


Leap Year Offer $44.44 For Four Years of Swimming World Total Access. That's only $11.11 per year! Click Learn More And Order Now - Offer expires at 11:59 pm, February 29th.

By Katlynn Emaus, Swimming Word College Intern

Wednesday night at Oakland University’s aquatic center the first session of the 2016 Horizon League Championships took place.The meet started with both medley relay records being broken and the pool record in the men’s 3 meter diving.

Women’s 200 Medley Relay
The first event, the women’s 200 medley relay, started things off with a new meet record. The team of Sofia Aledo Carmona, Kayla Fearrin, Emily Hayhow, and Samantha Miller from Wright State University won with a time of 1:39.96, breaking the previous Horizon League Record of 1:40.28 held by University of Wisconsin Milwaukee. Oakland University’s Talia Sola-Galindo, Takara Martin, Holly Morren and Nikki Flynn placed second with 1:40.42 and the team of Sara Bentley, Jennifer Kordik, Shelby Rozeboom and Hannah Lucas from Milwaukee placed third with the time of 1:42.32.

Men’s 200 Medley Relay
The top two teams in the men’s 200 medley relay both went under the previous meet record as well as achieving a B cut. Cleveland State’s team of Phillip Sikatzki, Tommi Woist, Szymon Golczyk and Declan McLaughlin won and set the new meet record at 1:26.05. Oakland University’s Paul Hutch, Devon Nowicki, Tuomas Kiviluoma and Jeremiah Morren was right behind them at 1:26.10; both teams were under the previous meet record of 1:27.32. Jack Fergus, Clement Quilliec, Mitchell Stover and Lucas Osgood from Wright State University finished third with 1:28.72.

Men’s 3 Meter Diving
During the prelims of men’s 3 meter diving, Oakland’s Stirling Fordham broke the pool record after six dives with a score of 356.65. In finals, Fordham went on to win finals with a score of 331.65, Tyler Pastore from University of Illinois Chicago placed second with a score of 306.00, and Joe Smith from Oakland University placed third with a score of 303.85.

Women’s 800 Free Relay

Nikki Flynn, Alysse Fischer, Arynn de Leeuw and Patricia Aschan from Oakland University shattered the previous meet record of 7:21.28 as well as Oakland’s school record with a time of 7:17.13. Flynn lead off in 1:47.77, which is under the Horizon League Record as well as the Oakland school record. The team from Milwaukee, Danielle Kudis, Natalie Johnson, Nicole Hutchins and Amanda Siehs, placed second in 7:23.62. Madison Aranda, Viktoria Orosz, Zsani Csado and Kolbrun Jonsdottir from Youngstown State finished in 3rd in 7:27.73.

Men’s 800 Free Relay

Oakland University’s men’s 800 free relay followed their women and broke both the Horizon League record and Oakland’s school record. The team of Kiviluoma, Jacob Pearson, Andrew Binder and Nowicki from Oakland won the event with a time of 6:29.10. Wright State’s team of Stover, Matthew Dassow,  Osgood, Wiehan Boshoff finished second in 6:32.41, while the team of Sikatzki, Golczyk, Phillip Brittain, and Wolst from Cleveland State placed in 3rd in 6:34.58.


Team Standings


Oakland University 119

University of Illinois Chicago 88

Wright State University 87

Cleveland State 86

Green Bay 83

Valpo 50

Milwaukee 46



Oakland University 74

Milwaukee 66

Wright State University 64

Cleveland State 56

University of Illinois Chicago 56

Green Bay 56

Youngstown 56

Valpo 22

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x