NOVA’s Andrew Koustik Throws Down 1:44 200 Fly on Night 3 of 2018 Carlsbad Sectionals

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Speedo Sectional Series is proudly sponsored by Speedo. Visit for more information on our sponsor.

Night three of the 2018 Speedo Sectionals in Carlsbad, California got underway this evening with fast swims and intense match-ups all across the pool.

BREA’s Zephanie Koh kicked off the evening’s session in a 1:58.41 while NOVA’s Hannah Farrow followed in 1:59.05. Emily Trieu took third in a 1:59.49.

The men’s 200 fly featured NOVA’s Andrew Koustik take the win in a 1:44.84 while Rose Bowl’s Daniel Syrkin took second in 1:46.05 with NOVA’s Nick Ding taking third in a time of 1:48.48.

NOVA’s Isabelle Odgers just out-touched Gianni Pitto in a 1:02.18, to Pitto’s 1:02.19. Channing Hanley swam a 1:03.18 to place third in the A final.

The men’s 100 breast A final saw Matthew Wilcox nab the win in a swift time of 54.73 with Ben Dillard right behind in 55.00. Notching a third place time of 56.52 was Sean Ward.

SoCal’s Samantha Shelton took the win in the women’s 200 free A final with a time of 1:45.74, which was good enough to get in front of NOVA’s Ayia Spitz who posted a 1:46.41. In third was Brea Aquatics’ Samantha Pearson in a 1:46.80.

WCAB’s Lee Ward posted the fastest time in the men’s 200 free with his 1:37.20 while NOVA’s Owen Kao took second in 1:38.51. NOVA’s Shawn Lou swam to a third place finish with his 1:39.06.

BREA’s Mikki Thompson nabbed a win in the women’s 400 IM with her 4:16.83, ahead of NOVA’s Odgers who put together a 4:19.19. In the men’s race RMDA’s Kevin Vargas touched first in a 3:51.66. Dillard took second in 3:55.97.

In the women’s splash n’ dash we saw Elise Garcia dip under 23-seconds in 22.91 with Alexandra Crisera in second with a 22.93. Taking third was BREA’s 23.11.

The men’s race featured NOVA’s Sean Slusiewicz touch first in 20.43 with OAPB’s Spencer Daily touching second in 20.69. RSD’s Dylan Delaney touched third in 20.71.

The action in Carlsbad continues tomorrow with the preliminary beginning at 9 a.m. PST.

1 comment