North Carolina vs. South Carolina

COLUMBIA, South Carolina. October 17. THE University of North Carolina men's and women's swimming and diving teams posted their first victories of the season in a dominating fashion.

The UNC men claimed 12 event wins and the women took 11 en route to victory.

The Tar Heel men were led by a trio of triple event winners. Freshman Evan Reed, sophomore Vinny Pryor, and junior Jeff James were all part of the winning 400-medley relay and claimed two individual events apiece. Reed won the 100- and 200-yard freestyles, Pryor won the 100- and 200-yard breaststrokes, and James won the 100- and 200-yard backstrokes.

Redshirt freshman David MacDonald took top honors on both the one- and three-meter boards.

On the women's side, four Tar Heels were double event winners. Junior Megan Steeves helped lead the women with wins in the 100- and 200-yard backstroke. Steeves set a personal best of 1:59.62 in the 200-yard backstroke, demolishing her previous mark of 2:03.03 by more than three seconds.

Sophomore Rebecca Kane garnered two wins in the 50- and 100-yard freestyles. Senior tri-captain Whitney Sprague won the 500- and 100- yard freestyle events. Freshman Layne Brodie won the 100-yard breaststroke and the 200-yard individual medley. To start the meet, the 400-yard medley relay team of Jeff James, Vinny Pryor, Tommy Wyher, and Evan Reed won with a time of 3:21.64.

Sophomore Katura Harvey won her first race of the season by taking the 200-yard freestyle in 1:51.67.

Freshman Enuf Swanson won the 200-yard butterfly with a blazing 2:00.77. Tyler Harris took the men's 200 butterfly in 1:50.00.

The Tar Heel trio of Brad Hamiton, Steve Cebertowicz and Jeff James went 1-2-3 versus the Gamecocks in the 50-yard freestyle. Hamilton won in 21.22 seconds, followed closely by Cebertowicz's time of 21.29 and James' 21.40.

Freshman Laura Moriarty won the women's 200-yard breaststroke in 2:16.09, besting the rest of the field by over two seconds.

The Tar Heels claimed the top four times in the men's 500-yard freestyle. Sophomore Tyler Harris led the pack with a time of 4:27.67, shattering his previous best of 4:29.09.

Special thanks to North Carolina for contributing this report.