Ning Zetao Becomes China’s 1st Male Sprint World Champion at 2015 FINA World Championships

Ning Zetao
Photo Courtesy: Chinese Swimming

Coverage of the 2015 FINA World Championships is sponsored by Wylas Timing. Visit our coverage page for more.

Ning Zetao became China’s first male sprint world champion as he took home the men’s 100-meter free title at the 2015 FINA World Championships.

Ning clocked a top time of 47.84, the best swim in the world this year, for his first world championship medal.  That time cleared the previous world best of 47.94 set by Cameron McEvoy yesterday.

It wasn’t enough to break his Chinese record of 47.65, but it was definitely good enough for him to join Sun Yang and Zhang Lin as just the third man from China to ever win a world title.

McEvoy, meanwhile, snared silver in 47.95 for his first world championship medal as well.

Argentina’s Federico Grabich chased down bronze in a time of 48.12 as he just missed his Argentinian record of 48.11.

Canada’s Santo Condorelli (48.19), Brazil’s Marcelo Chierighini (48.27), Russia’s Alexander Sukhorukov (48.28), USA’s Nathan Adrian (48.31) and Belgium’s Pieter Timmers (48.31) comprised the rest of the championship heat.

Adrian, the reigning Olympic champion in the event, fell surprisingly out of the medals.

Click Here To View Splits


  • Women’s 100 free semis
  • Men’s 200 IM finals
  • Women’s 200 breast semis
  • Men’s 100 free finals
  • Women’s 200 fly finals
  • Men’s 200 breast semis
  • Women’s 50 back finals
  • Men’s 200 back semis
  • Women’s 800 free relay finals