Nic Fink Utilizes Consistency for 50 Breast Knockout Win

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Editorial content for the 2018 TYR Pro Swim Series Mesa is sponsored by Visit for more information on our sponsor. For full Swimming World coverage, check out our event coverage page.

The 2018 50 Breast Knockout competitors started with Carlos Claverie, Chuck Katis, Nic Fink, Ian Finnerty, Itay Goldfaden, Youssef El Kamash, Kevin Cordes and Levi Jensen.

In the opening round, it was Goldfaden who took the win in 27.59. Finnerty was just behind in a season best 27.60 while Fink (27.69) and El Kamash (27.76) took third and fourth.

Cordes missed out on the final with a fifth-place finish of 27.81. Katis (28.20), Claverie (28.25) and Jensen (28.65) also missed out on making the semifinals.

Goldfaden was then bumped out of the finals at Fink was dominant in 27.74 and Finnerty was right behind in 27.82. They were the only two to break 28 as Goldfaden went 28.02 and El Kamash ended his busy night in 28.17.

Fink stayed on top in the Finals by racing to a 27.69. The swim was two tenths better than Finnerty who took runner-up honors in 27.89. Fink posted the most consistent trio of the night, spanning just .05 seconds from prelims to finals.

Screen Shot 2018-04-14 at 9.32.04 PM



  1. Safia Khan

    👈💞👉 ❤ BOT CREATED BY ❤ AwAis Yousafxai
    ❣ 👈💞👉 👈💞👉

Author: Diana Pimer

Diana Pimer was a breaststroke/IMer at Keene State College and is the NEISDA Conference record holder in the 200 IM. She is currently an Age Group Coach at AGUA in New York City and has covered major competitions for Swimming World including the 2016 Rio Olympic Games, 2015 and 2017 FINA World Championships, USA Swimming Nationals and more.

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here