NCAA Division I Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships: Texas’ Jimmy Feigen Crowned Sprint King With 100 Free Victory

Visit Swimming World's Event Landing Page for complete coverage of the meet. Click Here

FEDERAL WAY, Washington, March 24. TEXAS' Jimmy Feigen followed up his 50-yard free triumph with a victory in the men's 100-yard free for the sprint sweep at the NCAA Division I Men's Championships.

Feigen threw down a 41.95 for the win to give Texas its fifth 100 free title in program history. Former Longhorns to win the event are Shaun Jordan (1989, 91), Ian Crocker (2004) and Garrett Weber-Gale (2006). It was fitting that former sprint king Nathan Adrian handed out the awards at the podium.

Auburn's Marcelo Chierighini placed second in 42.34, while Southern California's Vlad Morozov finished third in 42.44. Stanford's Aaron Wayne (42.51), Kentucky's Tyler Reed (42.60), North Carolina's Steven Cebertowicz (42.72), Louisville's Joao De Lucca (42.75) and California's Tyler Messerschmidt (42.82) placed fourth through eighth in the finale.

Texas' Dax Hill claimed the consolation title in 42.63, while Ohio State's Jason Schnur placed second in 42.70. Texas A&M's John Dalton (43.15), USC's Dimitri Colupaev (43.17), Alabama's Bjoern Hornikel (43.29), Arizona's Giles Smith (43.45), Florida's Bradley deBorde (43.62) and Virginia's Peter Geissinger (43.76) snared the rest of the team points in the consolation heat.

Texas closed the gap in the team race with California leading just 419.5 to 393.5 after the race. Stanford (363), Arizona (308) and Michigan (230) held third through fifth.

Editorial coverage of all NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships is brought to you by our sponsor Colorado Time Systems.

Swimming World's NCAA Division I Men's Championships Notes Package Sponsored by NISCA