NCAA Division I Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships: California’s Marcin Tarczynski Backhalfs Way to 200 IM Victory

Visit Swimming World's Event Landing Page for complete coverage of the meet. Click Here

FEDERAL WAY, Washington, March 22. CALIFORNIA continued a strong first night as Marcin Tarczynski overtook Stanford's David Nolan with a superior backhalf for the men's 200 IM conquest at the NCAA Division I Men's Championships.

Tarczynski won in 1:41.97 to move to 11th all time in the event's history. The win is only California's second all time in the event's history. D. Graham Smith is the only other Golden Bear to have won the event. He posted a 1:48.44 to win way back in 1979.

Florida's Marcin Cieslak slipped into second with a 1:42.26, while Nolan fell to third in 1:42.85. Nolan was unable to live up to his high school potential after clocking a national high school record of 1:41.39 last year for Hershey, that would have won the meet the past three years.

California's Martin Liivamagi (1:42.90), Arizona's Austen Thompson (1:43.16), Michigan's Kyle Whitaker (1:43.91), Arizona's Woody Joye (1:44.71) and Auburn's Kyle Owens (1:44.85) also competed in the A final.

Arizona's Cory Chitwood, who cruised a bit too much in the morning and missed the championship heat, won the B final in 1:43.11. Indiana's Cody Miller jumped to second in 1:44.02, while California's Ben Hinshaw tied 2010 champion Austin Surhoff of Texas with matching 1:44.17s. Michigan's Dan Madwed (1:45.22), USC's Alex Lendrum (1:45.61), Texas' Nick D'Innocenzo (1:46.35) and California's Nolan Koon (1:46.47) also scored team points in the B final.

California held first with 90.5 points, while Stanford stood second with 78 points. Arizona (68), Auburn (60) and Michigan (58) rounded out the top five.

Editorial coverage of all NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships is brought to you by our sponsor Colorado Time Systems.

Swimming World's NCAA Division I Men's Championships Notes Package Sponsored by NISCA