NCAA Division I Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships: Arizona’s Cory Chitwood Threepeats In Closest 200 Back in NCAA History

Visit Swimming World's Event Landing Page for complete coverage of the meet. Click Here

FEDERAL WAY, Washington, March 24. ARIZONA's Cory Chitwood had just enough in the tank to capture his third straight victory in the men's 200-yard back at the NCAA Division I Men's Championships.

Chitwood, who has struggled so far this meet, had his best race of the meet when he needed it to defend his titles from 2010 and 2011. He clocked a 1:39.66 to hold off Stanford's David Nolan (1:39.74) in the closest 200-yard backstroke swim in NCAA Championships history. The .08-second differential broke the previous record of .10 set by L.B. Schaefer of Ohio State (1:58.7) in his triumph over Princeton's Jed Graef (1:58.8) way back in 1962.

Chitwood's third triumph in a row moved him into a second place tie with Texas' Rick Carey, Indiana's Charlie Hickcox and Stanford's Sean Murphy as other three-time winners. John Naber of USC and Yoshi Oyakawa of OSU accomplished career sweeps of the 200 back.

Stanford's Matt Thompson (1:41.81), California's Mathias Gydesen (1:42.21), USC's Alex Lendrum (1:42.29), Eastern Michigan's Jacob Hanson (1:42.32) and Auburn's Max Murphy (1:44.19) also competed for the NCAA title.

California's Marcin Tarczynski led the B final in 1:41.97, while Ohio State's Andrew Elliott took second in 1:42.23. Michigan State's Jacob Jarzen (1:42.71), Texas' Austin Surhoff (1:43.05), Texas' Kip Darmody (1:43.09), Virginia Tech's Zach McGinnis (1:43.21), Arizona's Michael Sheppard (1:43.66) and Texas' Cole Cragin (1:44.71) also swam for team points in the consolation heat.

California cracked 400 with a team-leading 408.5 points. Texas stood second with 364.5 points, while Stanford (348), Arizona (305) and Michigan (230) made up the rest of the top five.

Editorial coverage of all NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships is brought to you by our sponsor Colorado Time Systems.

Swimming World's NCAA Division I Men's Championships Notes Package Sponsored by NISCA