NCAA Division I Men’s Championships: Texas Wins 10th NCAA Title; California Tops 400 Free Relay

Visit Swimming World's Event Landing Page for complete coverage, photo gallery and video interviews from the meet.

COLUMBUS, Ohio, March 28. TEXAS completed what was the most balanced meet of any team this year en route to its 10th NCAA Division I Men's title in program history.

Texas ended the meet with an even 500 points to give head coach Eddie Reese his 10th crown at the helm of the Longhorns. The victory made Reese the only coach to ever win titles in four different decades. He now has triumphs in 1981, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002 and 2010. The victory also allowed Reese to break a tie with former Southern California head coach Peter Daland to move into sole possession of second-place in the career men's title list behind Ohio State's Mike Peppe.

(editor's note: Daland is the co-founder of Swimming World Magazine along with Yale's Robert J.H. Kiphuth, who won four men's titles in his career.

With its 10th title, Texas became just the third program to break into double digits. Michigan and Ohio State own the most titles with 11 each. It is fitting that Reese moved within one more title of Peppe's NCAA record coaching titles while Texas competed in the pool named after the leader.

The final event of the meet proved to be eventful, as the meet that did not want to start due to the norovirus just did not want to end. Auburn's Christopher Fox false started, causing a disqualification for Auburn and a 10-minute break for the rest of the swimmers that all swam an all out 50.

After returning to the blocks, California's Graeme Moore (43.31), Josh Daniels (42.01), Tom Shields (42.48) and Nathan Adrian (40.98) won Cal's eighth 400 free relay in program history with a 2:48.78. The performance broke the facility record of 2:50.85 set by Auburn during prelims. Previously, Cal claimed the event in 1985-87, 2000, 2002-03 and 2005.

Texas' Dave Walters (42.33), Jimmy Feigen (42.01), Scott Jostes (42.35) and Ricky Berens (43.21) claimed second in 2:49.90 after leading through the first three legs. Texas just had to have a clean race to guarantee the team title.

Stanford's Alex Coville (43.64), Eugene Godsoe (42.92), Jake Allen (43.11) and David Dunford (41.60) rounded out the top three in 2:51.27.

As previously mentioned, Texas won the meet with 500 points. California placed second overall with 469.5 points. The next tier of programs completed the top five as Arizona (387), Stanford (369) and Florida (364) finished third, fourth and fifth. Auburn (277.5), Michigan (204), Georgia (143), Ohio State (136.5) and Virginia (123) completed the top 10.

Final awards were also announced:
Diving Coach of the Year: Adam Soldati, Purdue
Swimming Coach of the Year: Dave Durden, California
Division I National Diver of the Meet: David Boudia, Purdue
Division I Swimmer of the Meet: Conor Dwyer, Florida

Swimming World's NCAA DI Men's Championships Notes Package Sponsored by Nike