NCAA Division I Men’s Championships: Purdue’s David Boudia Edges Texas A&M’s Grant Nel for Three-Meter Title Defense

Visit Swimming World's Event Landing Page for complete coverage of the meet.

MINNEAPOLIS, Minnesota, March 25. PURDUE's David Boudia did just enough on his final dive to overcome Texas A&M's Grant Nel for his third consecutive triumph in the three-meter diving event at the NCAA Division I Men's Championships.

Boudia tallied 472.30 points to win the event over Nel, who posted 471.35 points. Nel had just put the pressure on with a 98-point dive, before Boudia nailed a 91-point dive to pull ahead. The win is Boudia's third straight with wins in 2009 and 2010. He joins Miller Anderson of Ohio State and Lou Vitucci of Ohio State as the only other three-time winners. Troy Dumais of Texas swept the event all four years from 1999 to 2002 to be the only four-time winner. Boudia, a junior, will be shooting for the sweep his senior year next season.

Arizona State's Constantin Blaha (450.40), Duke's Nick McCrory (431.00), Texas' Drew Livington (417.05), USC's Harrison Jones (397.45), Florida State's Landon Marzullo (378.85) and Missouri's David Bonuchi (374.15) also dove in the championship finale.

California still has the most team points with 324, while Texas stands second with 270.5 points. Stanford (248.5), Arizona (192) and Auburn (178.5) completed the top five.

Swimming World's NCAA Division I Men's Championships Notes Package Sponsored by NISCA