NCAA Division I Men’s Championships: California Closes Door On Texas, Claims Team Title, 400 Free Relay

Visit Swimming World's Event Landing Page for complete coverage of the meet.

MINNEAPOLIS, Minnesota, March 26. CALIFORNIA's Graeme Moore, Josh Daniels, Tom Shields and Nathan Adrian eliminated all doubt about its first NCAA Division I Men's team title since 1980 by storming the field in the men's 400-yard free relay at the NCAA Division I Men's Championships.

The Golden Bear foursome ripped off a 2:47.39 to clinch the team and relay title. California defended its relay title from 2010, and improved its third-place tally to nine 400 free relay victories in program history. Previous victories for California came in 1985, 1986, 1987, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2005 and 2010.

Auburn's Adam Brown, Marcelo Chierighini, Karl Krug and Kohlton Norys pushed the pace early but fell to second with a 2:49.47, while Southern California's Vlad Morozov, Clement Lefert, Jeff Daniels and Dimitri Colupaev earned third in 2:50.32.

Texas needed to win the event with California falling to sixth or worse to come from behind to defend the team title. The foursome of Dax Hill, Jimmy Feigen, Woody Joye and Austin Surhoff just did not have enough to complete the task with a fourth-place 2:50.47.

Arizona (2:50.83), Virginia (2:51.83), Michigan (2:52.59) and Minnesota (2:52.66) rounded out the top eight.

Stanford's Alex Coville, Aaron Wayne, Austin Staab and Jakob Allen cruised to victory in the B final with a time of 2:49.54, while Florida finished 10th overall with a 2:52.02. North Carolina (2:52.80), Ohio State (2:52.94), Tennessee (2:53.20), Texas A&M (2:53.44), Iowa (2:54.82) and UNLV (2:55.42) also swam in the consolation heat.

California completed its team title run with 493 points, just off Texas' 500-point tally from a year ago. Texas took second with 470.5 points, while Stanford placed third with 403 points. Arizona (302) and Florida (291) finished fourth and fifth. Auburn (269.5), Southern California (206), Virginia (200), Michigan (181) and Georgia (125.5) earned the rest of the top 10 spots.

With the triumph, California earned its third men's team title, and first since winning back-to-back crowns in 1979 and 1980. The win is the first for Dave Durden.

For the first time since 1998, a university has swept the men's and women's NCAA Division I team titles under different coaches. This year, California did it under Teri McKeever and Dave Durden. In 1998, Stanford captured both titles with Richard Quick and Skip Kenney at the helm of their respective programs.

CSCAA Awards
Swimmer of the Championships: California's Nathan Adrian
Swimming Coach of the Championships: California's Dave Durden

Diver of the Championships: Purdue's David Boudia
Diving Coach of the Championships: Purdue's Adam Soldati

Swimming World's NCAA Division I Men's Championships Notes Package Sponsored by NISCA