National Open of Montpellier: Camille Muffat, Yannick Agnel Blaze First Day

MONTPELLIER, France, February 3. THE National Open of Montpellier kicked off with a handful of quick in-season swims as Camille Muffat and Yannick Agnel turned in a pair of second-ranked times in the long course meter opener.

Camille Muffat scorched the women's 200 free with a 1:56.57 for the victory. That swim shot her to second in the early world rankings behind only Allison Schmitt's 1:55.83 from the Austin Grand Prix. Femke Hemskerk slid to third with a 1:56.78 from Nancy last month. Charlotte Bonnet took second in 2:00.26, while Maria Ugolkova wound up third in 2:03.94.

Clement Lefert touched first in the men's 50 fly with a 24.35, while Yannick Agnel earned second in 25.03. Valerio Coggi wound up third in 25.31. Lefert and Agnel traded spots in the men's 200 free with Agnel winning in 1:46.94, and Lefert taking second in 1:47.84. Agnel improved his second ranking in the world rankings as well, just behind Sun Yang's 1:46.84 from the Miami Super Challenge last weekend. Agnel bettered his previous best of 1:47.01 from the Nancy meet last month. Lefert improved to third in the world ahead of Ricky Berens' 1:47.92. Gregory Malley posted a 1:48.76 to take third tonight.

Inge Dekker captured the women's 50 fly title in 26.39, short of her second-ranked time of 25.90 from Nancy last month. Camille Muffat finished second in 26.72, while Beryl Gastaldello placed third in 27.37. Muffat moved up to sixth in the early world rankings.

Laetitia Perez won the women's 50 back in 30.39, while Cloe Recoules took second in 31.41. Ava Pretre picked up third in 31.65. Jeremy Badre touched out Christophe Soulier, 27.21 to 27.25, for the men's 50 back victory. Tennessy Gallotte pocketed third in 27.61.

Geraldine Huffner topped the women's 200 breast in 2:38.09. Andrea Baudry took second in 2:39.08, while Adeline Williams finished third in 2:41.13. Bertrand Arnaud cruised to victory in the men's 200 breast with a 2:23.46, while Vincent Clement (2:26.71) and Brice Benhadj (2:26.77) took second and third.

Valerie Inghels captured the women's 200 fly in 2:21.66, while Rebecca Matthews (2:25.29) and Lisa Verlaeghe (2:28.71) took second and third. Thomas Vilaceca won the men's 200 fly in 2:02.91. Marvin Maisonneuve took second in 2:05.53, while Romain Mrowinski earned third in 2:08.47.

In distance freestyle events, Berengere Abraham took the women's 1500 free in 18:01.30, while Xavier Lepretre touched in 8:33.28 to win the men's 800 free.