Missy Franklin Wins Honda Award As Top Female College Swimmer

Missy Franklin
Photo Courtesy: Evan Pike - USA TODAY Sports Images

It’s been a good day for Missy Franklin in the awards category, as she was picked as a Collegiate Women Sports Awards winner — better known as the Honda Sports Awards — as the top collegiate swimmer of the 2014-2015 season. She was also picked as the Pac 12 swimmer of the year today.

Franklin’s exploits in the pool two weeks ago continue to create conversation among swimming fans. She became the first to break the 1:40 barrier in the 200-yard freestyle with a 1:39.10, breaking her own American record. She also won the 200 individual medley and 200 backstroke, becoming the first woman in five years to win three individual events at the Division I championships. She was also a part of the winning 200 free relay and 800 free relay for the California Golden Bears.

Franklin turned professional after the meet, something that she had intended to do long before she signed on to compete for any college. She was nominated for the swimmer of the year award along with Stanford’s Simone Manuel, Virginia’s Leah Smith and Louisville’s Kelsi Worrell, all of whom set major records in individual events.

As she begins the path toward a second Olympic appearance, Franklin will see if she will be voted as the top collegiate female athlete and win the Honda Cup. She’ll “compete” with 11 other women for the coveted Honda Cup, which has been won by five women, including a fellow Golden Bear.

Previous swimming Honda Cup winners:
Jill Sterkel, Texas (1981)
Tracy Caulkins, Florida (1982 and 1984)
Mary T. Meagher, California (1987)
Christina Teuscher, Columbia (2000)
Tara Kirk, Stanford (2004)

The winner of the Honda Cup will be named on June 29 at a ceremony in New York City.

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Congratulations Missy!! We are ever so proud of you back home in Colorado!!⭐️