Missouri Wrap up Mizzou Invite with Danny Kovac School Record, 400 Free Relay A Cut

Danny Kovac; Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Missouri Wrap up Mizzou Invite with Danny Kovac School Record, 400 Free Relay A Cut

Missouri wrapped up the Mizzou Invite on Friday with Danny Kovac lowering his school record in the 200 butterfly. The Tigers also nabbed an A cut in the men’s 400 free relay.

First Kovac, who went 1:40.78 to lower his school record. It is the top time in the nation and was nearly four seconds faster than in prelims. Teammate Luke Davis was second in 1:44.86.

Ben Patton and Jack Dahlgren each tallied nation’s best times Friday. Dahlgren won the 200 backstroke, his prelims time fastest in 1:40.96. Patton was first in the 200 breaststroke in 1:53.00, a margin of 1.5 seconds over teammate Will Goodwin.

The Tigers grabbed the only A cut of the meet’s final day in the 400 free relay. Dahlgren, Grant Bochenski, Patton and Kovac combined to go 2:50.75, a margin of more than four seconds over Cal Baptist and .24 under the auto standard. Dahlgren led off in 42.43. Kovac brought it back in 42.26.

Missouri won the men’s competition with 1,384.5 points, ahead of Cal Baptist (795). The Mizzou women outlasted Nebraska, 1,366.5 to 939.

Allison Bloebaum won the 1,650 free in 16:26.94.  Jack Dubois won the men’s race in 15:02.27. Both are NCAA B cuts.

Missouri went 1-2 in the 200 back via Meredith Rees (1:55.13) and Abbey Taute (1:55.98). Amy Feddersen’s 48.77 in the 100 free led four Tigers with NCAA B cuts. Katrina Braithwaite (2:12.20) and Kayla Jones (2:13.81) went 1-2 in the 200 breaststroke.

California Baptist went 1-2 in the 100 free via Remi Fabiani, who clocked in at 42.83 to double up on his 50 free B cut. Teammate Jacoby Leahy was second in 43.29, ahead of Bochenski.

The 200 fly was one of the few events not dominated by Mizzou. Nebraska’s Shannon Stott set an NCAA B cut of 1:58.76 to win. Second was San Jose State’s Reka Kovacs in 1:59.05.

North Carolina’s Aranza Vazquez Montano won her second diving event of the meet by scoring 303.60 points on platform. Mizzouri’s Carlo Lopez won the men’s platform with 370.70 points.