Mission Viejo’s Katie McLaughlin Closes King Marlin Elite Pro-Am With 2 More Wins


OKLAHOMA CITY – Mission Viejo’s Katie McLaughlin completed a successful meet at the King Marlin Elite Pro-Am with two more victories.

McLaughlin set a lifetime best with a top time of 1:57.60 to win the women’s 200-yard back.  That clipped the 1:57.76 she clocked at the Minneapolis stop of the Arena Grand Prix.  Rylee Linhardt took second in 1:59.88 with Carla Gonzalez earning third in 2:00.86.  PASA’s Eugene Godsoe captured the men’s 200-yard back crown in 1:41.08.  Adam Mania (1:43.73) and Brennan Balogh (1:46.85) finished second and third.

McLaughlin won a second title tonight with a 1:54.18 in the women’s 200-yard fly. That’s another personal best, clearing her 1:54.48 from last year’s edition of this meet.  Hannah Siaz finished second in 1:56.12 with Macie Beairsto taking third in 2:01.41. Stanford’s Bobby Bollier clocked a 1:43.68 to win the men’s 200-yard fly, while Alexandru Coci took second in 1:44.00.  Mission Viejo’s Grant Shoults posted a third-place time of 1:46.26.

Lauren Pitzer put up a 49.50 to win the women’s 100-yard freestyle tonight, while Samantha Shelton touched second in 50.02.  Gillian St. John rounded out the podium with a third-place 50.78. NYAC’s Jimmy Feigen hit the wall in 42.75 to win the men’s 100-yard free, while Giles Smith touched second in 4.38.  BJ Hornikel claimed third overall in 43.60.

SwimMAC’s Katie Meili took down the women’s 100-yard IM field with a 53.02 for the win.  PASA’s Karlee Bispo placed second in 53.82 with Kile Carriger earning third in 59.24.  Adam Mania topped the men’s 100-yard IM in 48.26 with Giles Smith taking second in 48.42.  BJ Johnson claimed third in 49.21.

Lauren Peterson topped the women’s 1650-yard freestyle in 16:53.01.  Jessica Storer placed second in 17:11.56 with Samantha Nassif taking third in 17:15.13.  Mission Viejo’s Nick Norman followed with a huge personal best in the men’s 1650-yard free.  He clocked a 14:50.78, crushing his previous best of 14:58.76 set here at the Pro-Am last year. Teammate Shane Forker took second in 15:21.35 with Minki Kang placing third in 15:21.87

Results available on Meet Mobile, and may later be available here

Editor’s Note: The meet is one of two dueling Oklahoma City-based Elite Pro-Ams this weekend. John Brown, the original head coach and founder of the meet when it began more than 20 years ago, has since moved on from the Kerr-McGee, then Chesapeake, and now American Energy Swim Club to the King Marlin Swim Club. He is hosting this version of the meet at the Oklahoma City Community College, the historic hosts of the fun winter-based short course yard professional event. Meanwhile, the meet’s founding club, American Energy is hosting another version of the 23rd annual Oklahoma Elite Pro-Am at the Mitch Park YMCA with Josh Davis at the forefront of the event.