Minnesota Extends Leads on Day Two Against Purdue, Northwestern, Iowa

Megan Van Berkom -- Photo Courtesy: NCAA Media

Minnesota Extends Leads on Day Two Against Purdue, Northwestern, Iowa

Three Big Ten programs brought their swimming and diving programs to West Lafayette, Ind., this weekend, with Minnesota, Northwestern and the Iowa women all facing off with Purdue. The Minnesota Golden Gophers opened up leads over their competition on day one of racing and extended those margins Saturday, with all of Minnesota’s five victories secured well before the final events.

Women’s Team Scores:

  • Minnesota 275, Purdue 96
  • Minnesota 228, Purdue 144
  • Purdue 251, Iowa 120
  • Minnesota 249, Northwestern 119
  • Northwestern 194, Iowa 172
  • Purdue 212, Northwestern 156

Men’s Team Scores:

  • Minnesota 219, Purdue 150
  • Minnesota 221, Northwestern 150
  • Purdue 197, Northwestern 175

The Gopher women opened the meet with a 200 freestyle relay win behind Morgan ThomasHannah CornishMina Kaljevic and Ava Yablonski (1:30.76). Megan Van Berkom then continued her winning ways as she won the 400 IM by six seconds in 4:10.35. Thomas added a win in the 100 butterfly (53.12), and the 500 free went to Eliot Kennedy (4:44.15).

Minnesota’s Vivi Del Angel Peniche secured the win in platform diving (338.70) before Thomas, Cornish, Kaljevic and Yablonski won the 400 free relay in 3:18.13.

Northwestern’s Lindsay Ervin topped the 100 free (49.31), and teammate Ayla Spitz topped the 200 backstroke in 1:54.27. For Purdue, Mahala Erlandson won the 200 breaststroke (2:13.04).

On the men’s side, Minnesota’s David HarabagiuKaiser NevermanConnor Groya and Lovro Serdarevic secured the 200 free relay win in 1:18.60, with William Christenson promptly holding off Northwestern’s Diego Nosack to win the 400 IM in 3:47.20, with Nosack just behind in 3:47.42. Neverman was the winner in the 100 free (43.17), and Harabagiu took first in the 100 fly (46.03), with Purdue’s Brady Samuels taking a close second place in both events.

The Golden Gophers’ Bar Soloveychik won the 500 free convincingly in 4:16.90. Minnesota’s Harabagiu, Neverman, Casey Stowe and Groya earned first in the 400 free relay in 2:53.88.

Northwestern’s David Gerchik won the 200 back (1:43.89), and teammate Connor Morikawa topped the 200 breast (1:57.11). Meanwhile, Purdue’s Jordan Rzepka won platform diving (465.05).


Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Jane Neverman
Jane Neverman
21 days ago

Congratulations Kaiser Eric!!!

Jane Neverman
Jane Neverman
21 days ago

So proud of Minnesota!

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x