Mike Koleber Re-Elected as ASCA Board President at Annual Swim Clinic

Mike Koleber; Photo Courtesy: Nitro Swimming

Mike Koleber Re-Elected as ASCA Board President at Annual Swim Clinic

Mike Koleber has been re-elected as the president of the board of directors of the American Swimming Coaches Association (ASCA) at their annual swim clinic this weekend.

In addition to Koleber, four new board members were added: Mohamed Abdelaal, Bill Dorenkott, Ellen Johnston and Emily Melina. The five board additions were elected from a field of six candidates fielded at the annual meeting.

Koleber, the head coach of Nitro Swimming in Austin, Texas, will continue as president. Among the other board leadership positions, Dave Gibson remains as vice present and Mike Murray as secretary. Jimmy Tierney has been elected treasurer, replacing Chad Onken, whose term ended in 2021.

Other board members whose terms ended in 2021 are Matt Kredich (an at-large member), David Marsh and Dave Salo.

Dorenkott has been at Ohio State for 14 years, the last five as the director of men’s and women’s swimming. He led the Buckeyes women’s team to the Big Ten title in 2020-21 and has led both programs to top-3 finishes at Big Tens each of the last four seasons.

Abdelaal coaches at Scarlet Aquatics in New Jersey. He’s the former coach of St. Peter’s College. Johnston is the head coach of the Water Rat Swim Team at the Westport Weston Family YMCA in Connecticut. Melina, a UCLA alum who swam for 2021 ASCA Hall of Fame inductee Cyndi Gallagher, is the head coach at Oregon’s Lake Oswego Swim Club.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.