Michigan Open Swimming Championships

By Candice Peak

ROCHESTER, Michigan, February 16. MICHIGAN Lower Peninsula Division I High school state champion, Johanna Cowley of Club Wolverine swam to a total of five wins, while Clay Youngquist of Lakeview Aquatic Club swam to four individual wins during the 2010 Michigan Open short course yard competition.

Cowley's wins included four individual triumphs in the 200 IM (2:04.79), 200 back (2:03.29), 100 free (51.66), and 50 free (23.94). Cowley also served as a member of the winning Club Wolverine 200 free relay (1:38.19), where she joined teammates Lauren Seroka, Anne Tamblyn and Stephanie Boyle.

Freshman Vannessza Balogh from Oakland University showed her versatility by winning four individual events including the 1650 free (16:52.92), 500 free (4:54.25), 200 breast (2:18.84) and 400 IM (4:23.19). Teammate Jane Evink also picked up an individual win in the 100 back (57.06)

National 11-12 Age Group Record Holder in the 200 fly, Madison Wright of Kingfish, had a pair of individual wins in the 100 fly (56.29) and 200 fly (2:01.65), breaking her own Michigan 11-12 age group records in the process. Wright also was a member of Kingfish's winning 200 medley relay (1:50.17). Teammate Caroline Arakelian, who won the 200 free (1:50.54), joined Wright on the winning relay.

Michigan High School Division II State Champion and record holder, Annie Lazor from Atlantis also won the 100 breast (1:05.31).

Youngquist, the 2009 Junior National Champion in the 500 free, had four individual wins throughout the course of the meet, winning the 200 IM (1:52.06), 500 free (4:34.57), 200 fly (1:50.91) and 400 IM (4:02.30).

Senior Marcin Unold from Oakland University had three individual wins in the 100 free (44.85), 100 back (50.08), and 50 free (20.64), while teammate Josh Wolf won the 100 fly (51.13).

Justin Glanda from Oakland Live Y'ers (OLY) won the 200 free (1:40.98) and swam on OLY's winning 200 free relay (1:30.27). Sean Chabot, who tied for first in the 200 back (1:55.43) with Tobias Hansen, joined Glanda on the winning 200 free relay. The other individual win for OLY went to Matt McNamara, who took the 100 breast (58.38).

Kingfish's lone win came from Nick Arakelian who won the 1650 free (15:52.60) breaking the 25-year-old 13-14 record by more than 12 seconds.

Comments Off on Michigan Open Swimming Championships

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here