Michael Andrew Wins 4 Events at Carlsbad Speedo Sectional


Editorial Content for Speedo Sectional Series is sponsored by Speedo. Visit Speedo Today

Michael Andrew had a strong showing at the 2019 Speedo Sectional in Carlsbad, California during the weekend, winning five events in three days.

Andrew won the 100 butterfly in 46.59 to hold off Daniel Syrkin (47.60). Andrew also claimed a victory in the 200 IM, finishing in 1:44.43 to beat Jonathan Affeld (1:48.89) and the field by more than four seconds.

On Saturday, Andrew won the 100 breast in 52.92, finishing well ahead of Pavel Romanov (53.76).

Andrew made it a double on Saturday and surged to the 50 free title in 19.74, finishing ahead of Stephan Lukashev (20.21).

Syrkin won the 200 fly in 1:45.63 to hold off Henry Flanders (1:46.77).

On Thursday, Claire Tuggle won the 1,000 freestyle in 9:41.96, finishing ahead dog Liberty Williams (9:48.03). Tuggle also won the 500 free (4:43.27) to hold off Williams (4:46.96).

In the men’s 1,650, Jude Williams earned the win in 15:20.32, to finish ahead of Hunter Kroll (15:28.09). Williams won the 500 free in 4:24.70.

On Friday, Justina Kozan got finals off to a fast start by winning the 100 fly in 52.42 to hold off Mia Kragh (53.32). She also won the 200 fly in 1:56.56, finishing ahead of Emily Trieu (1:59.48).

In the women’s 100 back, Alexandra Crisera took the victory in 52.84, finishing ahead of Linnea Mack (53.17). Mack won the 50 free in 22.69 to hold off Crisera (22.73). Mack also won the 100 free on Sunday, finishing in 48.49 to old off Samantha Pearson (48.95).

Crisera won the 200 back in 1:55.09 to hold off Zoie Hartman (1:57.07).

In the women’s 200 IM, Hartman won easily in 1:56.99, well ahead of runner-up Kozan (1:58.27) and Tuggle (1:59.62). Hartman also won the 200 breast in 2:09.98, holding off Danielle Herrmann (2:11.50).

Hermann won the 100 breast in 58.71, holding off Hartman (59.81).

In the men’s 100 back, Jonah Cooper earned the win in 48.14, followed by Mark McCrary (48.79).

Ayla Spitz won the 200 free in 1:45.77, finishing ahead of Tuggle (1:46.05) and Pearson (1:46.80).

In the men’s 200 free, Colby Mefford won in 1:37.17 to finished ahead of Benjamin Forbes (1:37.46). Mefford also won the 200 back (1:46.97) to finish ahead of Affeld (1:48.10).

Benedict Nagy won the women’s 400 IM in 4:18.40, well ahead of Averee Preble (4:19.71). Dominic Falcon won the men’s event in 3:51.58, followed by Tonahuac Zinn (3:52.08) and Affeld (3:52.20).

On Sunday, Alex Gray won the 100 free in 44.85, ahead of Christian Bathurst (45.01). Jassen Yep won the 200 breast (1:57.42) to finish ahead of Ben Dillard (1:57.45).

Irvine Novaquatics won the men’s, women’s and combined team scores.


  1. avatar

    A leading nominee for swim of the meet: Danielle Herrmann in the 100 Breast as her :58.71 surpassed the fastest in the PAC-12 meet, which was won in :59.1.

  2. avatar

    Why is he swimming SCY???