Paul Powers Breaks 19 as Michigan Continues Domination at Men’s Big Tens

paul-powers-ncaa-2015 (2)

Leap Year Offer $44.44 For Four Years of Swimming World Total Access. That's only $11.11 per year! Click Learn More And Order Now - Offer expires at 11:59 pm, February 29th.

By Andy Ross, Big Ten Beat Writer

Michigan and Indiana were neck and neck this morning after the prelims session of the Men’s Big Ten meet. But it was Michigan that won the three individual events on Thursday night. Indiana grabbed momentum at the end of the night winning the 400 medley relay that bodes well for them going into tomorrow. Michigan still leads with 496 points, Indiana is in second with 452 and Ohio State is in third with 427.5.

500 Free

Anders Nielsen of Michigan took control of the race early and never looked back. Nielsen led from start to finish and won with a 4:12.83. That time was good for a pool record that was set by Peter Vanderkaay at the 2004 Big Tens. Vanderkaay still holds the meet record at 4:12.37 from the 2005 Championships. Michigan has now won 20 of the last 23 Big Ten titles in the 500 free. Defending champ Matt Hutchins of Wisconsin was second at 4:14.36 and PJ Ransford of Michigan was third at 4:15.54.

  1. Anders Nielsen, Michigan, 4:12.83
  2. Matt Hutchins, Wisconsin, 4:14.36
  3. PJ Ransford, Michigan, 4:15.54
  4. Joseph Long, Ohio State, 4:18.36
  5. Max Irwin, Indiana, 4:19.79
  6. Brayden Seal, Ohio State, 4:20.32
  7. Steffen Hillmer, Ohio State, 4:22.53
  8. Adam Destrampe, Indiana, 4:22.67

200 IM

Dylan Bosch of Michigan kept the Michigan domination going with a 1:43.02 to win the 200 IM. Bosch reset his pool record that he set this morning. Michigan now has seven of the last eight winners in the 200 IM and they could continue that streak within the next few years. Michigan sophomore Evan White was second at 1:43.11 and senior Peter Brumm was third at 1:43.78. Brumm came back and out-touched Indiana freshman Ian Finnerty who was 1:43.82. Michigan and Indiana had put the same amount of swimmers in the final of the 500 and 200 IM but Michigan showed why they have won five straight Big Ten titles.

  1. Dylan Bosch, Michigan, 1:43.02
  2. Evan White, Michigan, 1:43.11
  3. Peter Brumm, Michigan, 1:43.78
  4. Ian Finnerty, Indiana, 1:43.82
  5. Vinicius Lanza, Indiana, 1:44.16
  6. Jakub Maly, Minnesota, 1:44.53
  7. Blake Pieroni, Indiana, 1:44.84
  8. Andrew Appleby, Ohio State, 1:45.06

50 Free

Defending champion Paul Powers had set the pace this morning with a swift 19.03. Everyone in the building was wondering if he could get under 19 at night and he smashed the barrier with an 18.85. Powers became the fourth person in the nation this year to break 19 seconds after NC State’s Ryan Held and Simonas Bilis broke the barrier at ACCs earlier tonight. The other was Florida sophomore Caeleb Dressel. Powers is also a sophomore and these two could provide the next great sprint rivalry in USA and/or NCAA Swimming. Indiana sophomore Ali Khalafalla was second at 19.27 and Purdue senior Adam Johnston was third at 19.61.

  1. Paul Powers, Michigan, 18.85
  2. Ali Khalafalla, Indiana, 19.27
  3. Adam Johnston, Purdue, 19.61
  4. (t) Matt McHugh, Ohio State, 19.62
  5. (t) Anze Tavcar, Indiana, 19.62
  6. Jason Chen, Michigan, 19.65
  7. Bowen Becker, Minnesota, 19.68
  8. Cannon Clifton, Wisconsin, 19.74.

400 Medley Relay

Indiana won its first 400 medley relay title since 1986 and snapped Michigan’s 8-year-winning streak in that event. They touched first at 3:05.61. There was a little bit of a scare for a possible early takeover but the results held up as Indiana won their first event in the pool. It was also the first event of the meet in the pool that was won by someone not from Michigan. Bob Glover (46.63), Tanner Kurz (51.52), Vinny Lanza (45.65) and Blake Pieroni (41.81) broke the pool record that was held by Michigan from the 2009 Big Ten meet. Other notable splits were Matt McHugh’s (Ohio State) 45.81 backstroke, Roman Trussov’s (Iowa) 51.45 breaststroke and Paul Powers’ 42.04 freestyle. Michigan was second at 3:07.06 and Iowa was third at 3:07.83.

  1. Indiana, 3:05.61
  2. Michigan, 3:07.06
  3. Iowa, 3:07.83
  4. Ohio State, 3:07.97
  5. Wisconsin, 3:09.61
  6. Minnesota, 3:09.86
  7. Purdue, 3:11.40
  8. Northwestern, 3:12.25

Michigan, 496
Indiana, 452
Ohio State, 427.5
Minnesota, 308
Wisconsin, 268
Purdue, 246
Iowa, 208
Northwestern, 194
Penn State, 187.5
Michigan State, 114

2016 Big Ten Conference Men’s Championships Day 2 – Results